The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning Cover Image
$16.95
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park
1 on hand, as of Dec 15 2:01am
(SOCIOLOGY)
Ravenna
7 on hand, as of Dec 15 2:01am
(SOCIOLOGY)
Seward Park
2 on hand, as of Dec 15 1:30am
(ESSAYS)

Staff Reviews


Maggie Nelson’s The Art of Cruelty is one of my very favorite works of criticism, an incisive and wide-ranging consideration of the aestheticization of violence across a host of media. Nelson excels at finding intersections between genres you never thought bordered one another; between criticism, poetry, and memoir, for example. And while The Art of Cruelty is closer to pure criticism than some of her more experimental books, it shares the freewheeling style and adroit attention to language that mark her very best writing.

— From Theo

Description


Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath's poetry to Francis Bacon's paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono's performance art, Nelson's nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780393343144
ISBN-10: 0393343146
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: August 13th, 2012
Pages: 288
Language: English