Days of Awe: Stories (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Days of Awe: Stories Cover Image
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park
4 on hand, as of Jun 24 8:45am
3 on hand, as of Jun 24 9:45am
Seward Park
2 on hand, as of Jun 24 8:45am

Staff Reviews

Returning to the form that gave her the reputation of "literary force," Homes outdoes herself with Days of Awe. These stories will move you, amuse you and make you squirm - often all at once.

Despite each story's succinct page count, Homes's mastery of the novel form enriches each tale with a depth and intricacy most writers cannot convey in 300 pages.

— From Wesley


"With dark humor and sharp dialogue, Homes plumbs the depths of everyday American anxieties." --Time

A razor-sharp story collection from a writer who is always "furiously good" (Zadie Smith, bestselling author of Swing Time).

With her signature humor and compassion, A.M. Homes exposes the heart of an uneasy America in her new collection - exploring our attachments to each other through characters who aren't quite who they hoped to become, though there is no one else they can be.

In "A Prize for Every Player," a man is nominated to run for president by the customers of a big box store, while he and his family do their weekly shopping. At a conference on genocide(s) in the title story, old friends rediscover themselves and one another - finding spiritual and physical comfort in ancient traditions. And in "Hello Everybody" and "She Got Away," Homes revisits a Los Angeles family obsessed with the surfaces and frightened of what lives below.

In the nearly three decades since her seminal debut collection The Safety of Objects, Homes has been celebrated by readers and critics alike as one of our boldest and most original writers, acclaimed for her psychological accuracy and "satire so close to the truth it's terrifying" (Ali Smith). Her first book since the Women's Prize-winning May We Be Forgiven, Days of Awe is a major new addition to her body of visionary, fearless, outrageously funny work.

About the Author

A. M. Homes is the author of the memoir The Mistress's Daughter and the novels This Book Will Save Your Life, Music for Torching, The End of Alice, In a Country of Mothers, and Jack, as well as the story collections The Safety of Objects and Things You Should Know. She lives in New York City.

Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9780670025497
ISBN-10: 0670025496
Publisher: Viking
Publication Date: June 5th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English