Ongoingness: The End of a Diary (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Ongoingness: The End of a Diary Cover Image
$14.00
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park
2 on hand, as of Sep 22 9:27am
(BIOGRAPHY-GENERAL)
Ravenna
1 on hand, as of Sep 22 9:29am
(BIOGRAPHY-GENERAL)
Seward Park
5 on hand, as of Sep 22 9:24am
(BIOGRAPHY-GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


While there is a story arc at play here (Sarah the girl becomes Sarah the wife and Sarah the mother), Ongoingness is a meditation on one writer's propensity for excess that gives way to a profound restraint.

Manguso has built a career out of cool-edged precision and it is readily apparent here she is well on her way to fully realizing her talent and has taught her pen to sing.

— From Wesley

March 2015 Indie Next List


“Ongoingness is at once a calm analysis and a feverishly whispered confession. Built around the 'dark matter' of Manguso's 800,000-word diary, each capsule-sized entry is a meditation on memory, mortality, and what we leave behind -- both tangible and not. Highly recommended for fans of Joan Didion's The White Album and Leslie Jamison's The Empathy Exams.”
— Sarah Hollenbeck, Women & Children First, Chicago, IL

Description


Manguso] has written the memoir we didn t realize we needed. The New Yorker

In Ongoingness, Sarah Manguso continues to define the contours of the contemporary essay. In it, she confronts a meticulous diary that she has kept for twenty-five years. I wanted to end each day with a record of everything that had ever happened, she explains. But this simple statement belies a terror that she might forget something, that she might miss something important. Maintaining that diary, now eight hundred thousand words, had become, until recently, a kind of spiritual practice.

Then Manguso became pregnant and had a child, and these two Copernican events generated an amnesia that put her into a different relationship with the need to document herself amid ongoing time.

Ongoingness is a spare, meditative work that stands in stark contrast to the volubility of the diary it is a haunting account of mortality and impermanence, of how we struggle to find clarity in the chaos of time that rushes around and over and through us.

Bold, elegant, and honest . . . Ongoingness reads variously as an addict's testimony, a confession, a celebration, an elegy. The Paris Review

Manguso captures the central challenge of memory, of attentiveness to life . . . A spectacularly and unsummarizably rewarding read. Maria Popova, Brain Pickings

About the Author


Sarah Manguso is the author of three memoirs, Ongoingness, The Guardians, and The Two Kinds of Decay; a story collection; and two poetry collections. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area, where she teaches at St. Mary's College.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781555977658
ISBN-10: 1555977650
Publisher: Graywolf Press
Publication Date: December 6th, 2016
Pages: 104
Language: English