Lake Forest Park

Latest Staff Picks

A devastating read about the short tragic life of collegiate sprinter Madison Holleran, a 19-year-old girl who seemingly had everything in life before her abrupt suicide. Fagan blends her own story as a depressed college athlete looking for answers to tell this heartbreaking story. This is an important read to understand the growing pressures of young people today as they hide behind emojis and happy instagram pictures without ever revealing who they really are.   

Picked by Kalani

Growing up in a blended family, the Cousins and Keating children become increasingly loyal to each other as their disillusionment with their parents grows. Their life stories evolve through memory and interpretation, and as they age, they begin to see their parents as people.

Picked by Emily A.

Hoxton Mini is the coolest (and most affordable) photography publisher in centuries and Joseph Markovitch is the most charming and pragmatic octogenarian since the dawn of time.

Picked by Wesley

A primarily silent graphic novel that is profoundly moving. The lack of color and text just add to the raw emotions portrayed. You don't read this as much as you experience it. Take the time and let it affect you. Pay attention to what's really happening in each frame and it will gradually work its way into your heart and mind. It's dark and bleak and savagely human.

Picked by Courtney

10 year-old Elvis, her older sister, Lizzie, and Dad flounder following the drowning of "Mom." Boomer, the beloved family dog, Ernie, the adopted parrot, Lizzie's risky sleepwalking and Elvis's zoo volunteering add both levity and heaviness to this grieving family. Mom baked rabbit cakes to celebrate just about everything, and Lizzie manically proceeds to bake 1,000 rabbit cakes to make it into the Guinness Book of World Records. Crammed with heart-wrenching and hilarious scenes, this upended family copes with love AND many delicious rabbit cakes!

Picked by Jane

In the steamy South, Leia, 38 and secretly pregnant, hopes for advice from her beloved grandmother, Birchie, but Leia's "problems" takes a back stage to Birchie's escalating dementia. Wattie, Birchie's lifelong companion and caretaker, has kept the illness under cover...until now. Disturbing the contents of an attic trunk, Leia and her stepsister, Rachel, discover something that could put Birchie behind bars. With wonderful characters full of heart and good intentions, this mix grows more complicated with the appearance of the fatehr of the baby-to-be. Humor blended with strong emotions give the reader quite a ride into this befuddled family!

Picked by Jane

None of the connections Mata Hari made with men of wealth and importance saved her from the French firing squad on October 15, 1917. Until her last hour, she believed that her charm and personal favors would dispel the espionage charges, that her innocence would prevail. Although the prosecutor hand no evidence, no case, this exotic dancer and world famous beauty had discredited herself with the public. Coelho's brilliant account of a fiercely independent woman of history, Mata Hari, illuminates and adventurous life during dark times.

Picked by Jane

While disparate at first glance, American Fire turned out to be the book I wanted Hillbilly Elegy to be. Without sacrificing objectivity or sympathy, Hesse has created a gripping, polished account of working class America's resentments and struggles without flirting with condescension or neglecting its strengths. It is a timely, intriguing and poignant book deserving of a wide audience.

Picked by Wesley

For fans of Roxane Gay and Lindy West, look no further! Irby has an ability to confront tough issues head on with dark humor, genuine pathos and real pain. Her way of making everything she writes seem both deeply personal and urgently relevant to understanding each other is a talent most of us would never dare get to. You'll laugh, you'll snort, you'll tear up, and you'll enjoy it.

Picked by Courtney