Lake Forest Park

Latest Staff Picks

The only word that accurately describes the experience of Supper Club is "viscous."

I hate anything related to food: preparation, consumption, the offensive necessity of it. But Williams's ability to imbue the art of cooking with an eroticism, intoxicating decadence and sense of dread left me squirming and squealing.

Picked by Wesley

The epigraph of Edwidge Danticat's new story collection generously claims that everyone experiences diaspora, as we are exiled from our mother's body as soon as we are born. What follows are stories that strive to prove its' universality with equal attention to tenderness and brutality. In this collection that lingers on family and death, she has tapped directly into the core of human experience. This book will make you cry, probably in public, so prepare accordingly.

Picked by Kitri

For all you rootless souls with the always present desire to keep moving. With good humor and his loyal companion at his side, Steinbeck explores the nature of America and its inhabitants from the smallest outposts of civilization to the big metropolises, making observations along the way about racism and the loneliness that invades us all. 

Picked by Laura

I've never seen a story like Jude's depicted in children's literature. At 12 years old, she and her mom leave Syria to live with her uncle in America. But once in America, they quickly understand they won't be treated like they belong. This America that promised an acceptance of people from different countries, is one that calls Jude a terrorist once she starts wearing a hijab. 

But through it all, Jude remains hopeful. From trying to make new friends, to trying out for her school's musical, she starts to learn that making a new home doesn't mean you have to forget the one you came from. This novel in verse is urgently relevant and not to be missed!

Picked by Claire

The inevitably devastating and torturous human toll of global warming is such a massive spectre that it's almost impossible for us to truly conceptualize. David Wallace-Wells has done a graceful, brutal job of breaking it all down for us, piece by terrifying piece. His writing is so lush, and at times even funny, that I found it impossible to stop reading even as it crushed my heart. This is the most urgent, necessary book I've ever read.

Don't look away. Read this. Think of what we need to do. Who holds power? What are the levers and fulcrums in our political and economic system? What are we willing to give up? All we have to lose is everything.

 

Picked by Anje

For fans of Hatchet, Julie of the Wolves, or the I Survived series... 

Nuclear fallout has poisoned everything, Ann's family is gone, and her only companion is her brother's heartbroken hunting dog. But she's tough, she's self sufficient, and there's still clean water in the valley that her family's off the grid farm is located in. She's resigned to never seeing another human again. Until the moment she sees smoke from a distant campfire, getting closer with each passing day; and Ann is forced to consider if human company actually does equal safety, or if it's just another thing to survive.

Picked by Anje

This YA novel is essentially Rory-and-Paris fanfic, if Rory was Persian and Paris was Jewish-Mexican. Oh, and if they were lesbians with secret crushes on one another. It's everything you wanted that Netflix's last season of Gilmore Girls didn't deliver.

 

Rachel and Sana hate each other. When a chance blunder at school forces a collaboration in Rachel's senior film, neither girl trusts the other to get it right. And, as much as she is loathe to agree with her film adviser, Rachel knows Sana is perfectly cast as her Helen of Troy. Soon, the prim cheerleader is narrating the Greek epic and demanding other changes. With only 30 days left to meet academic deadlines, Rachel needs the film to be perfect to clinch her spot at NYU... and Sana needs a distraction as she runs down the clock on mailing her deposit to Princeton. The sweetest romance could bloom between them if they cast aside fear and their prep school personas. 

Picked by Danielle

I am a sucker for anything set in Florida - not quite a paradise, not quite the South but always peculiar. It is the perfect setting for Ciment, a writer whose clear prose creates a stark contrast to the muddy waters in which her characters swim. The Body in Question is chock full of weirdos and moral quandaries - a winning combination.

Picked by Wesley

At heart a "romancer" of the medieval variety, Helprin here delivers with panache a difficult, larger-than-life, great-hearted quest novel.  His trademark penchants for oddball humor and tall-tale adventuring are tightly focused, and perhaps in no other novel does his unabashed devotion to the Ideal and to Beauty shine with more intensity.  Finishing this novel, I was troubled by Helprin's delicate, surgical prick to the heart (and, yes, I knew it was coming). But at the same time, for some hours I floated a few inches above the ground, buoyed by the aesthetic generosity, the irrepressible vision of this novel, the banquet of its gifts.

Picked by Adam