Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Logo
A Wrinkle in Time Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780312367541
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Square Fish - May 1st, 2007

Though this book is short, it is nothing short of profound. Meg was my first fictional hero, and she taught me something fundamentally important: that you can be flawed and still be a hero. You can be angry and amazing, full of fear and love at the same time, and all of those layers stack together to make you strong. A book to combat darkness, in all its forms.


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
George Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780545812573
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 25th, 2017

George's titular character is a transgender 4th grade girl whose unwavering faith in herself provides a model for all readers to aspire to. The supportive relationship that George has with her best friend Melissa assures readers that, with friends who encourage you to be your most authentic self, anything is possible. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut Cover Image
By Derrick Barnes, Gordon C. James (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781572842243
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Agate Bolden - October 10th, 2017

Dedicated lovingly and joyfully to the art of the haircut, Crown celebrates the confidence and cool a fresh cut can lend to a kid's spirit. James's impressionist illustrations ooze with spunk and swoop with sureness, inspiring an infectious self-confidence. For best results, share aloud with reinvigorated aplomb!


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
Ballet Cat the Totally Secret Secret Cover Image
By Bob Shea, Bob Shea (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781484713785
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Disney-Hyperion - May 5th, 2015

Ballet Cat and Sparkles are best friends. Ballet Cat loves ballet, A LOT. Sparkles? Not so much. Ballet Cat notices Sparkles is unhappy and asks what's wrong. That's when Sparkles tells Ballet Cat a very SECRET secret. Which shocks Ballet Cat. But Ballet Cat has a secret too...

If you like Elephant and Piggie, you'll be fast friends with Ballet Cat and Sparkles in no time. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
Last Stop on Market Street Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399257742
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2015

An inclusive and affirming snapshot of city life, this picture book follows CJ and his grandmother as they depart church and take a bus ride to the very last stop on Market Street. CJ wishes they could take a car home, but his grandmother shows him the beauty that exists all around him in the city, especially on the city bus. Christian Robinson's illustrations are timeless and full of compassion that CJ learns along the way. A gorgeous read. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
The Pink Umbrella Cover Image
By Amelie Callot, Genevieve Godbout (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101919231
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tundra Books (NY) - January 2nd, 2018

Do you love:

  • cafés with adorable proprietors
  • community-building fit to rival Stars Hollow's (sans Taylor)
  • spunky rainwear worn to combat seasonal affective disorder
  • frustratingly alluring colored pencil and pastel illustrations
  • any or all of the above?

Then this rom-com of a picturebook is for you!!


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
The Lotterys Plus One Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545925815
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - March 28th, 2017

Think Cheaper by the Dozen but WAY BETTER. When you have a big family, it's easy for things to lapse into pandemonium, but the Lotterys manage that delicate balance between chaos and calm with skillful co-parenting, mindful communication, and lots of affection. A loving, inclusive snapshot of a non-traditional family for fans of The Penderwicks, Clementine, and Ivy + Bean. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
The Wild Robot Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316382007
Availability: Not yet published - available for pre-order now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 1st, 2019

This is not your average robot book. This robot book is also about: animals, what it means to be human, the environment, community-building, creating a family, and - most importantly - finding a home. Brown intersperses his text with his signature graphic illustrations, and his short chapters pack powerful punches while lending themselves well to reading aloud. Readers young and old will find themselves desperate for more robot Roz when this book ends. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
Love Cover Image
By Matt De La Pena, Loren Long (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524740917
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2018

Start 2018 off with this magnificent book about the minute yet powerful ways love can manifest in our lives. Matt de la Peña's lyrical prose, accompanied by Loren Long's lovingly crafted illustrations, celebrates the strength of expressing love in the face of hardship and challenging circumstances. A tour-de-force to be read on repeat and shared often with all ages. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
Grandma's Purse Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524714314
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2018

Sometimes you need help becoming your most authentic self from the sweet treats, fancy fun, and signature flourishes nestled in Grandma's bottomless bag! A delightful ode to grandmas everywhere, their Mary Poppins-esque pocketbooks, and the little ones that adore them. 


Review by Niki

Pages