Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Last True Poets of the Sea Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368048088
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 2019

I wanted to hug these characters and never let go; live out my life on these salty shores, in the tiny shops; claim the metaphors as my own, never thinking of happy moments as anything other than pebbles on my own beach.  Julia Drake expertly captures the precious and painful experiences of family, friendship, and love in a net of small town lore, diverse journeys toward mental health, and some of the most beautifully poetic lines I've ever read. Simply put, The Last True Poets of the Sea made me ache for an understanding I didn’t know I needed.


Review by Katelynn

Staff Pick Badge
The Last True Poets of the Sea Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368048088
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 2019

I can’t remember the last book I’ve been absolutely glued to like this one. There was a moment where I had to get up and start pacing the room as I was reading because my love for these characters quite literally affected my mind, body, & soul. It’s ultimately a story about survival; one that cuts deep while healing you at the same time. Quite simply, this book is “swoon” incarnate.


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
Skip Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781910620427
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Nobrow - July 23rd, 2019

The visuals of this graphic novel are an experience in and of themselves. Before reading Skip I never had the sensation of tasting color. The only thing I can liken it to are the intense feelings that come over me when viewing the art of Vincent Van Gogh. In addition to stunning visuals, the story is absolutely beautiful, and reading through it made me feel like a leaf floating on a river: fast and slow, gentle and crushing. 


Review by Ashley

Staff Pick Badge
Hope and Other Punch Lines Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524766771
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Delacorte Press - May 7th, 2019

Summer camp counselors, awkward & sweet friendship turned to romance, alternating perspectives, laugh out loud humor, AND unputdownable pacing - um, yes please!


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
Tell Me How You Really Feel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250299482
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Feiwel & Friends - June 11th, 2019

This YA novel is essentially Rory-and-Paris fanfic, if Rory was Persian and Paris was Jewish-Mexican. Oh, and if they were lesbians with secret crushes on one another. It's everything you wanted that Netflix's last season of Gilmore Girls didn't deliver.

 

Rachel and Sana hate each other. When a chance blunder at school forces a collaboration in Rachel's senior film, neither girl trusts the other to get it right. And, as much as she is loathe to agree with her film adviser, Rachel knows Sana is perfectly cast as her Helen of Troy. Soon, the prim cheerleader is narrating the Greek epic and demanding other changes. With only 30 days left to meet academic deadlines, Rachel needs the film to be perfect to clinch her spot at NYU... and Sana needs a distraction as she runs down the clock on mailing her deposit to Princeton. The sweetest romance could bloom between them if they cast aside fear and their prep school personas. 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
All of Us with Wings Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781641290340
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Soho Teen - June 18th, 2019

Is it fate that intertwines 17-yr-old Xochi and 12-yr-old Pallas, or is it simply kindred spirit? On the night of the Autumn Equinox, they cast a playful spell and summon two eerie, green forest children - "Water Babies" in Native American lore - but these creatures do more than cause vivid dreams. Told from multiple POV's (including a bookstore cat!) with interludes in verse and oral storytelling, Keil's debut is a lush, magical novel of first loves and found family. 

 

A delightfully dark "New Adult" read for fans of Francesca Lia Block, Sherman Alexie, and Hayao Miyazaki. 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Dig Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101994917
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

I wanted to leap from my chair several times while reading this book because it is so good that it felt disrespectful to read it sitting down.

There is not another book like this on the planet, but there should be. I can promise you that I will be talking about this book until the day I die.


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
Creature Tech (New Edition) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781534309180
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Image Comics - January 15th, 2019

Relentless adventure, extreme weirdness, gorgeous and energetic art, a dash of low humor and gore, and reverence for Things Not Seen--’Creature Tech’ is bizarre and entertaining from first page to last. In a world of increasingly ‘transgressive’ comics, TenNapel is a true subversive: at heart, under everything, a gutsy and radical traditionalist. God bless Doug TenNapel


Review by Adam

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525426455
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

Unmoored by the loss of her first love, Poe Blythe has created deadly armor to protect the Outposts last dredge as it sets sail to pan for gold. Led by a man known only as The Admiral, Poe's grief and anger serves a purpose. But when her ship is attacked by drifters downriver, Poe's faith is tested. Why do the drifters hate the dredge?

Poe's survival depends on more than her engineering skills, but who can she trust?


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
A Winter's Promise: Book One of the Mirror Visitor Quartet Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781609454838
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Europa Editions - September 25th, 2018

I think I’ve been waiting all my life to find this book. Or, perhaps, I’ve just been waiting for it to find me. With any translated novel there's a kind of unnameable wonder. So, I don’t know if it’s just the beauty of the translation itself from its original French text or something else entirely, but I haven’t read a book this magically alive since Harry Potter. Think of all your expectations of what a fantasy novel can be and know that this novel will surpass every single one. Gah! So this is love.


Review by Claire

Pages