Staff Pick Badge
Tell Me How You Really Feel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250299482
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Feiwel & Friends - June 11th, 2019

This YA novel is essentially Rory-and-Paris fanfic, if Rory was Persian and Paris was Jewish-Mexican. Oh, and if they were lesbians with secret crushes on one another. It's everything you wanted that Netflix's last season of Gilmore Girls didn't deliver.

 

Rachel and Sana hate each other. When a chance blunder at school forces a collaboration in Rachel's senior film, neither girl trusts the other to get it right. And, as much as she is loathe to agree with her film adviser, Rachel knows Sana is perfectly cast as her Helen of Troy. Soon, the prim cheerleader is narrating the Greek epic and demanding other changes. With only 30 days left to meet academic deadlines, Rachel needs the film to be perfect to clinch her spot at NYU... and Sana needs a distraction as she runs down the clock on mailing her deposit to Princeton. The sweetest romance could bloom between them if they cast aside fear and their prep school personas. 



Staff Pick Badge
All of Us with Wings Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781641290340
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Soho Teen - June 18th, 2019

Is it fate that intertwines 17-yr-old Xochi and 12-yr-old Pallas, or is it simply kindred spirit? On the night of the Autumn Equinox, they cast a playful spell and summon two eerie, green forest children - "Water Babies" in Native American lore - but these creatures do more than cause vivid dreams. Told from multiple POV's (including a bookstore cat!) with interludes in verse and oral storytelling, Keil's debut is a lush, magical novel of first loves and found family. 

 

A delightfully dark "New Adult" read for fans of Francesca Lia Block, Sherman Alexie, and Hayao Miyazaki. 



Staff Pick Badge
Magic for Liars: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250174611
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tor Books - June 4th, 2019

If The Dresden Files and The Magicians had a book baby, this would be it. Our heroine is an ordinary private eye hired to solve a murder at a boarding school for magical teenagers. Unfortunately, it's also the school where her magical twin sister, Tabitha, works. As Ivy gets further involved in the inner workings of the school, its faculty, and its students, she questions her sanity and skill. Can she keep up appearances, find the killer, and reunite with Tabitha?

 

Excellent storytelling with a plot that had me guessing "whodunnit" until the last 50 pages.



Staff Pick Badge
Man-Eaters Volume 1 Cover Image
By Chelsea Cain, Kate Niemczyk (Artist), Lia Miternique (Artist)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534311435
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Image Comics - March 5th, 2019

Oh, did I miss Cain's special blend of pop culture satire and zany camp! Here's the deal: menstruation turns teen girls into massive killer cats. Luckily, capitalism (aka THE MAN) has delivered a range of products to eliminate periods once and for all. Except... a cat attack plagues our teen heroine's Portland suburb. 

 

If you like BITCH PLANET and teen angst, MAN-EATERS is totally on brand!


Tags:

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525426455
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

Unmoored by the loss of her first love, Poe Blythe has created deadly armor to protect the Outposts last dredge as it sets sail to pan for gold. Led by a man known only as The Admiral, Poe's grief and anger serves a purpose. But when her ship is attacked by drifters downriver, Poe's faith is tested. Why do the drifters hate the dredge?

Poe's survival depends on more than her engineering skills, but who can she trust?



Staff Pick Badge
We Set the Dark on Fire Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062691316
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 26th, 2019

Latinx culture. Near-future fantasy island. Espionage and arranged marriage. Queer romance.

 

In short, a gripping feminist story with excellent stakes, world-building, and character development that ends in a cliff-hanger. Let's just say I need book two of this duology immediately.



Staff Pick Badge
Kid Gloves: Nine Months of Careful Chaos Cover Image
By Lucy Knisley, Lucy Knisley (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781626728080
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: First Second - February 26th, 2019

Are you a parent? Do you want to be a parent? Do you have a uterus or know someone who does? Then I recommend this book for you.

 

Lucy Knisley's personal experiences are balanced by her research on obstetrics throughout history. I am fascinated by the anecdotes and myths perpetuated by science, politics, and well-meaning mothers and mother-in-laws, but most endearing are the illustrations of Knisley's rocky path to parenthood. She has a terrifying pregnancy experience, no doubt about it, but her story is warm and hopeful. 


Tags:

Staff Pick Badge
Five Feet Apart Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534437333
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 20th, 2018

Two teenagers with cystic fibrosis: they have a long list of DON'Ts but very few DOs. Stella sticks to her schedules and pins hope on a lung transplant. Will is ready to be 18, free of hospitals and his mother's race for a cure. An endearing and honest story of two teenagers learning there's more to living than simply surviving. 



Staff Pick Badge
I Capture the Castle Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780312201654
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 15th, 1999

I'm a sucker for coming-of-age novels, more so when the setting is a crumbling English castle. Cassandra is a witty, observant girl on the cusp of adulthood. Her family is in a perilous financial situation: her father probably isn't writing another groundbreaking novel, her stepmom has retreated to London, and her sister pins their salvation on their new, wealthy American neighbors. A lesser-known work by the author of 101 Dalmations, suitable for adult ad teen readers alike!