Feeling Boxed In

It's getting tough out there, or in there. While being stuck at home, it seems like we're busier than ever. Working. Baking bread. Watching all of Ozark. Zoom happy hours. Training our dogs to jump over stacked rows of toliet paper.

And then there are those of you with bored kids and cats on your hands. Kids can't go to school. Cats can't go outside. And you don't want to overload them on screen time. Plus cats don't really use phones.

BUT! You know what will work for both those crowds??? BOXES!!! Kids love boxes. Cats love them more! And we've got all the boxes you need, in book form obviously. Here's a collection of some of the best box-themed kids books out there. And if you order any of them, they'll come in an actual box...for the cat.

Don't miss this wholly original celebration of the power of imagination, winner of a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award. This picture book with its visual humor and simple dialogue is great for fans of Mo Willems and Crockett Johnson—and it's a thoughtful graduation gift for creative people of all ages.


If you give a child a box, who can tell what will happen next? It may become a library or a boat. It could set the scene for a fairy tale or a wild expedition. The most wonderful thing is its seemingly endless capacity for magical adventure, a feature imaginatively captured in cardboardesque art and rhythmically celebrated in this poetic tribute.


From two-time Caldecott Medal-winning illustrator Barbara Cooney and celebrated children’s book author Alice McLerran comes Roxaboxen, a treasured story about the magic of a child’s imagination. This picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6.


An irresistibly cute story about finding the confidence to be yourself, starring a turtle in search of the perfect shell.


A STEAM-centered, adorably illustrated picture book about Meg, a brilliant and creative boxitect who creates extraordinary things out of ordinary cardboard boxes.

Meg is a brilliant and creative boxitect. She loves impressing her teacher and classmates with what she makes out of boxes. But there’s a new kid at Maker School: Simone.


In the style of Mo Willems, Jonathan Fenske tells three humorous stories of two friends, Pig and Fox, and their shenanigans with a cardboard box (all of which involved Pig accidentally crushing Fox in the box). With comic art and simple language, this Level 2 reader is sure to have kids rolling with laughter.


From the author of The Day the Crayons Quit comes a groundbreaking friendship series, introducing best friends Monkey and Cake as they grapple with life's biggest questions.

Meet Monkey and Cake.
They are silly and they are curious.
Sometimes they agree. Sometimes they do not.
But they are always best friends.


Adam Grant, the bestselling author of Give and Take, teams with his wife, Allison, to share the lighthearted tale of a gift in search of a giver--a classic in the making and the perfect conversation starter about thoughtfulness.


What can a fox do with a box? Have a grand adventure!

In this debut picture book, author-illustrator Yvonne Ivinson invites readers on an imagination- and vocabulary-fueled journey. With colorful, engaging paintings; a lively, limited word count; an adorable fox; and a story with a surprise ending, this book is a great choice for emerging readers.


When his radio breaks, a little fox finds that the forest is filled with its own rhythm and music--drip drops and chirp chirps--in this picture book that gently introduces the concept of mindfulness.


Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Awkward, and All's Faire in Middle School, this graphic novel follows a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary cardboard into fantastical homemade costumes as they explore conflicts with friends, family, and their own identity.


Cam's down-and-out father gives him a cardboard box for his birthday and he knows it's the worst present ever. So to make the best of a bad situation, they bend the cardboard into a man-and to their astonishment, it comes magically to life. But the neighborhood bully, Marcus, warps the powerful cardboard into his own evil creations that threaten to destroy them all!