The Eden Test: A Novel (Paperback)

The Eden Test: A Novel By Adam Sternbergh Cover Image
$18.99
Coming soon - available for pre-order now

Description


"A galloping and exhilarating thriller." —Laura Dave, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Thing He Told Me

From Edgar Award-finalist Adam Sternbergh, an electrifying domestic suspense novel for fans of The Perfect Marriage and Rock Paper Scissors, about a couple who are forced to the ultimate extremes to save their marriage—and themselves.


Seven Days. Seven Questions. Forever Changed.

Daisy and Craig’s marriage is in serious trouble. That’s why Daisy has signed up for The Eden Test, a week-long getaway for couples in need of a fresh start. Yet even as she’s struggling to salvage her marriage, it seems Craig has plans to leave her for another woman. In fact, his bags are already packed—long before he arrives to meet Daisy in this remote cabin in the woods of upstate New York.

At first, their week away is marked by solitude, connection, and natural beauty—and only a few hostile locals. But what Craig doesn’t know is that Daisy, a slyly talented actress, has her own secrets, including a burner phone she’s been using for mysterious texts. Not to mention the Eden Test itself, which poses a searing new question to the couple every day, each more explosive than the last. Their marriage was never perfect, but now the lies and revelations are piling up, as the week becomes much more than they bargained for…How far are they willing to go?

Adam Sternbergh brings his wit, originality, and a Hitchcockian sense of dread to this chilling, surprising, and wholly entertaining portrait of a marriage on the brink.

About the Author


Adam Sternbergh is an editor at The New York Times. He is the author of Shovel Ready, nominated for the Edgar Award; Near Enemy; and The Blinds. He was born in Toronto and lives in Brooklyn with his family.

Praise For…


"A galloping and exhilarating thriller, The Eden Test is about marriage and deception and it will have you rooting (against all odds) for the couple at its center." —Laura Dave, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Thing He Told Me

"What makes a successful marriage? That's the question at the heart of this twisty, twisted, and compulsively readable thriller. It's Adam Sternbergh's best novel yet—full of smart and thoughtful questions about husbands, wives, and the secrets of domestic bliss." —Jason Rekulak, author of Hidden Pictures

"An utterly gripping thriller that pulls off a tidy trick—The Eden Test is about deceit, infidelity, and violence, yet somehow is also a thoughtful story about how to make a happy marriage." —Rumaan Alam, National Book Award nominated author of Leave the World Behind

"Adam Sternbergh has quickly become one of my favorite novelists. His books are the perfect combination of high concept/flawless execution. The Eden Test continues his winning streak—twisty, timely, and darkly comic. I loved it." —Laura Lippman, New York Times bestselling author of Lady in the Lake

"The Eden Test is addictive, fleet and thrillingly (and pointedly) of our moment, leaving you spent and exhilarated, with a lingering and potent frisson at just how close to home it’s struck. And with it, Adam Sternbergh proves himself the Ira Levin of our times, dancing from genre to genre while also skillfully intermingling and overturning them. His latest may be his most bravura feat yet." Megan Abbott, bestselling author of The Turnout

"A perfect recipe for some emotionally heavy suspense." CrimeReads

“[A] wry, sly chiller. . . Wickedly inventive, briskly paced. . . . Darkly funny. . . . Crafty. . . . Hang on for a wild ride.”Kirkus (starred review)

“Outstanding. . . . One masterfully manipulative chiller just waiting for its close-up. Sternbergh has outdone himself.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250855688
ISBN-10: 1250855683
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: July 16th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English