The Last Rhee Witch (Hardcover)

The Last Rhee Witch By Jenna Lee-Yun Cover Image
$17.99
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
11 on hand, as of May 28 2:35pm
(CH-MIDDLE)
Ravenna (order processing takes 24 hours)
4 on hand, as of May 28 2:45pm
(CH-MIDDLE)
Seward Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
2 on hand, as of May 28 2:45pm
(CH-MIDDLE)

Description


For fans of The Last Fallen Star, Witchlings, and Ghost Squad, a heartfelt middle grade debut where Korean folklore is all too real and summer camp includes a gwishin haunting.

You couldn’t hold onto everything and everyone. You had to choose. And Ronnie only had two hands.

Since her mother died when she was five years old, it’s always just been Ronnie Miller and her dad. Two Korean Americans who, thanks to Ronnie’s dad’s adoption by white parents, have never felt all that Korean. But Ronnie is okay with that—as long as she has her dad and her best friend Jack, Ronnie is 99% certain she can get through anything.

But as much as she wants everything to stay the same, the world—and her dad—has other plans. Now, Ronnie and Jack are headed away to sleepaway camp for the first time ever. Camp Foster promises all of the outdoorsy activities that Ronnie has so far managed to avoid: ropes courses, scavenger hunts, kayaking on the lake. Ugh. But she can do this. As long as she has Jack.

As it turns out, an old manor in the woods is the kind of place that’s crawling with secrets. Secrets like a mysterious gwishin haunting the grounds, a blood-red scarf wrapped too tightly around her ghostly neck. And a witch-hunting dokkaebi intent on finding and silencing the last Rhee witch. And the strange habit all the counselors have of rhyming when they speak . . . just like Ronnie has begun to do lately.

For a girl who wants everything to stay the same, nothing is scarier than all the changes Camp Foster brings. New friends. New foes. Souls with unfinished business. And, possibly worst of all, revelations that disprove everything Ronnie knew to be true.

Jenna Lee-Yun combines magic, mystery, suspense, and humor into a ghostly action-packed contemporary fantasy.

About the Author


Jenna Lee-Yun resides in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, son, daughter, and mini-goldendoodle. She loves nothing more than writing middle-grade and young adult novels with a large cup of coffee. She reads as much as she can and finds there is never enough time to get ahead of her TBR pile. She is overjoyed to see so much more diversity in children's books. The Last Rhee Witch is her debut novel.

Praise For…


"[A] deftly crafted, page-turning narrative . . . Rich in Korean mythology and suspense; will keep readers guessing." —Kirkus Reviews

"A magically engaging book." —Booklist

"Readers will enjoy this spooky middle grade mystery featuring an endearing cast of characters." —School Library Journal

"Lee-Yun ably balances folklore, realism, and a bit of suspenseful mystery." —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books


Product Details
ISBN: 9781368099073
ISBN-10: 1368099076
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Publication Date: May 14th, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English