Titus Groan (Paperback)

Titus Groan By Mervyn Peake, Anthony Burgess (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Mervyn Peake, Anthony Burgess (Introduction by)
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
1 on hand, as of Jun 18 2:35pm


Dreamlike and macabre, Mervyn Peake’s extraordinary novel Titus Groan—first in the Gormenghast Trilogy—is one of the most astonishing and fantastic works in modern fiction.
Introduction by Anthony Burgess
As the novel opens, Titus, heir to Lord Sepulchrave, has just been born. He stands to inherit the miles of rambling stone and mortar that form Gormenghast Castle. Meanwhile, far away and in the kitchen, a servant named Steerpike escapes his drudgework and begins an auspicious ascent to power. Inside of Gormenghast, all events are predetermined by complex rituals, the origins of which are lost in time—and the castle is peopled by dark characters in half-lit corridors.
“His inventiveness, his ingenuity, and his humor are astonishing.” —San Francisco Chronicle

About the Author

Mervyn Peake (1911–1968) was a playwright, painter, poet, illustrator, short story writer, and designer of theatrical costumes, as well as a novelist. Among his many books are the celebrated Gormenghast novels, Titus Groan, Gormenghast, and Titus Alone, and the posthumously published Titus Awakes, the lost book of Gormenghast finished by Peake’s wife Maeve Gilmore after his death. The Gormenghast novels, as well as Peake’s other writings, Mr. Pye and Peake’s Progress, are all available from The Overlook Press.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781585679072
ISBN-10: 1585679070
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Publication Date: June 26th, 2007
Pages: 400
Language: English