Mrs. Porter Calling: A Novel (The Emmy Lake Chronicles #3) (Hardcover)

Mrs. Porter Calling: A Novel (The Emmy Lake Chronicles #3) By AJ Pearce Cover Image
$28.00
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
2 on hand, as of May 20 6:35am
(FICTION--GENERAL)
Ravenna (order processing takes 24 hours)
1 on hand, as of May 20 6:50am
(FICTION--GENERAL)
Seward Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
1 on hand, as of May 20 6:50am
(FICTION--GENERAL)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the The Emmy Lake Chronicles series.

Description


From the author of the bestselling “jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People) Dear Mrs. Bird, a charming and irresistible novel featuring aspiring journalist Emmy Lake as she navigates life, love, and friendship in London during World War II—perfect for fans of The Paris Library and Lessons in Chemistry.

London, April 1943. Twenty-five-year-old Emmy Lake is doing her part for the war effort by spearheading the hugely popular “Yours Cheerfully” advice column in Woman’s Friend magazine. The postbags are full, Emmy’s guidance offers much needed support to her readers, and Woman’s Friend is thriving. Cheered on by her best friends Bunty and Thelma, and resolute in the absence of her husband who is fighting in the army, Emmy is dedicated to helping women face the increasing challenges brought about by over three years of war.

But Emmy’s world is turned upside down when glamorous socialite, the Honorable Cressida Porter, becomes the new publisher of the magazine, and wants to change everything about it. Aided by Mrs. Pye, a Paris-obsessed editor with delusions of grandeur, and Small Winston, the grumpiest dog in London, Mrs. Porter fills the pages with expensive fashions and frivolous articles about her friends. Worst of all, she announces that she is cutting the advice column. Her vision for the publication’s future is dreadful and Emmy is determined to fight back.

Emmy and her friends must save the magazine they love, but when personal tragedy strikes, they are forced to face the very real implications of life in war-torn London.

Set in 1943 but inherently resonant with how we live today, Pearce’s signature blend of laugh-out-loud funny and heartbreakingly sad storytelling delivers a tribute to the strength of friendships. An enriching story about women coming together, Pearce’s latest novel is the perfect tonic for our times.

About the Author


AJ Pearce grew up in Hampshire, England. She studied at the University of Sussex and Northwestern University. A chance discovery of a 1939 women’s magazine became the inspiration for her series The Emmy Lake Chronicles, which includes Dear Mrs. BirdYours Cheerfully, and Mrs. Porter Calling. She lives in the south of England.

Praise For…


Praise for Mrs. Porter Calling:

“Immersive... Pearce enhances the [story] with lively characters, showing how they find joy in simple pleasures and humor in the face of loss.” —Publishers Weekly

“Delightful…with liberal amounts of pluck, compassion, and the day-to-day details of wartime life in London…For readers who love plucky heroines or World War II fiction – or who just need encouragement to keep going in tough times – Mrs. Porter Calling is just the thing.” Shelf Awareness

“This book has everything: humour, heart, and, most important, the reminder that true friendship can help us move whatever mountains get in our way!” First for Women

 
 “Clear a space on the shelf reserved for your favorite comfort books. Mrs. Porter Calling is the rare novel that manages to be deep as it is delightful. Funny, endearing, heartbreaking, and uplifting — it’s a thoroughly entrancing story about friendship, work, and finding the best in life, even during the worst of times.” —Nina de Gramont, author of The Christie Affair

"Both endearing and amusing. While the realities of war are not ignored, the focus of this heartwarming story is on how these people meet their difficulties with optimism and determination and move forward knowing that they are not alone." —Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781668007716
ISBN-10: 1668007711
Publisher: Scribner
Publication Date: August 8th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: The Emmy Lake Chronicles