Voices in the Snow (Black Winter) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Voices in the Snow (Black Winter) By Darcy Coates Cover Image
List Price: $16.99
Our Price: $14.99
(Save: $2.00 12%)
On our shelves now:
Ravenna (order processing takes 24 hours)
1 on hand, as of Jun 21 2:45pm
(HORROR A-Z)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Black Winter series.

Staff Reviews


In an instant everything stops and the world goes silent, but why? As the first novel in the Black Winter series, we are thrown into a mysterious yet terrifying new look at what the end might look like. A perpetual blizzard rages outside whilst Clare and Dorran must confront that what brought them together was much more sinister than a car accident. This book is fast-paced, insidiously descriptive, and thoroughly spine-chilling. 

— From Lauren

Description


From USA Today bestseller and rising queen of atmospheric horror Darcy Coates comes Book 1 in the Black Winter Series. No one escapes the stillness…

This propulsive, suspenseful series is:

  • Perfect for fans of V.C. Andrews and Peng Shepard
  • For lovers of horror and paranormal thrillers

Clare remembers the cold. She remembers abandoned cars and children's toys littered across the road. She remembers dark shapes in the snow and a terror she can't explain. And then... nothing. When she wakes, aching and afraid in a stranger's gothic home, he tells her she was in an accident, a crash in the snow. He claims he saved her. Clare wants to leave, but a vicious snowstorm has blanketed the world in white, trapping them together, and there's nothing she can do but wait.

At least the stranger seems kind... but Clare doesn't know if she can trust him. He promised they were alone here, but she sees and hears things that convince her something else is creeping about the surrounding woods, watching. Waiting. Between the claustrophobic storm and the inescapable sense of being hunted, Clare is on edge... and increasingly certain of one thing:

Her car crash wasn't an accident. Something is waiting for her to step outside the fragile safety of the house... something monstrous, something unfeeling.

Something desperately hungry.

More books in this haunting snow and winter series:

  • Secrets in the Dark (Book 2)
  • Whispers in the Mist (Book 3)
  • Silence in the Shadows (Book 4)

More scary novels by Darcy Coates:

  • The Haunting of Ashburn House
  • The Haunting of Blackwood House
  • Craven Manor
  • The House Next Door

About the Author


Darcy Coates is the USA Today bestselling author of Hunted, The Haunting of Ashburn House, Craven Manor, and more than a dozen horror and suspense titles. She lives on the Central Coast of Australia with her family, cats, and a garden full of herbs and vegetables. Darcy loves forests, especially old-growth forests where the trees dwarf anyone who steps between them. Wherever she lives, she tries to have a mountain range close by.

Praise For…


"Unique blend of character-centered, intense, psychological suspense laced with supernatural elements and little gore...readers will cover their eyes in fear while still wanting, desperately, to turn the page to see what comes next. " — Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9781728220185
ISBN-10: 1728220181
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date: January 7th, 2020
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Black Winter