Everything/Nothing/Someone (Kobo eBook)

Everything/Nothing/Someone By Alice Carrière Cover Image
$28.00
Available Now

Description


  • MAJOR LITERARY DEBUT: Alice’s writing is mesmerizing, fearless, and thrilling—this is the debut of a genuine literary stylist.
  • PORTRAIT OF MENTAL ILLNESS: Alice writes about her struggles with compulsive self-harming behavior (cutting) in a brutally honest, evocative way that depicts the dislocating effects of a dissociative disorder.
  • STARRED EARLY REVIEWS**:** E/N/S has received rave, starred reviews inPW (“This brutal, illuminating account reads like a contemporary Girl, Interrupted”) and Kirkus(“A stunning memoir”). Full excerpts below.
  • TARGET AUDIENCE: For readers of Crying in H Mart, Just Kids, Prozac Nation, Girl, Interrupted, and An Unquiet Mind—literary coming-of-age memoirs about young women struggling with mental illness and emotional problems, troubled childhoods, addiction, and a propensity for danger.
  • JENNIFER BARTLETT: Bartlett was a defining figure of the New York art world in the 1970s and ’80s. Her death in July 2022 was covered by every major news outlet, including the New York Times. In September 2023, her iconic work, Rhapsody, will once again be installed in the atrium of the Museum of Modern Art and MOMA will host a celebration of her life. We expect renewed media attention on Bartlett the time of our publication.
  • **ROCK STARS, ART STARS, WORLD LEADERS, AND CULTURAL AVATARS:**Patti Smith, Steve Martin, Joan Didion, Andy Warhol, Anna Wintour, Al Gore, Brice Marden, Susan Sarandon, Julia Roberts, and many, many other luminaries appear on these pages, presenting a vivid portrait of lives lived at the vanguard of late 20th-century culture and privilege.
  • NEW YORK IN THE ’90S/AUGHTS: Carrière captures the glitter, the danger, and the crazy, seductive energy of New York City in this era, including an insider’s depiction of the art world. As Just Kids presented an indelible view of New York in the late ’60s/early ’70s, through the eyes of an emerging artist, E/N/S presents a similar view of the city and its fertile soil for creativity around the turn of the millennium.
Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781954118300
Publisher: Spiegel & Grau
Publication Date: August 28th, 2023
Language: