Jenna Lee-Yun with Shana Targosz — 'The Last Rhee Witch'

For fans of The Last Fallen Star, Witchlings, and Ghost Squad, a heartfelt middle-grade debut where Korean folklore is all too real and summer camp includes a gwishin haunting.


Third Place Books is overjoyed to welcome Jenna Lee-Yun to our Lake Forest Park store for the release of her debut middle-grade novel, The Last Rhee Witch, with magic, mystery, suspense, and humor in a ghostly action-packed contemporary fantasy. She will be joined in conversation by Shana Targosz. This event is free and open to the public.

For important updates, registration is highly recommended in advance. This event will include a public signing and time for audience Q&A. Sustain our author series by purchasing a copy of the featured book!

Having trouble accessing Eventbrite? Click here.

 

Event RSVP icon

Tickets available now

for this in-person event

 

About The Last Rhee Witch. . .

You couldn’t hold onto everything and everyone. You had to choose. And Ronnie only had two hands.

Since her mother died when she was five years old, it’s always just been Ronnie Miller and her dad. Two Korean Americans who, thanks to Ronnie’s dad’s adoption by white parents, have never felt all that Korean. But Ronnie is okay with that—as long as she has her dad and her best friend Jack, Ronnie is 99% certain she can get through anything.

But as much as she wants everything to stay the same, the world—and her dad—has other plans. Now, Ronnie and Jack are headed away to sleepaway camp for the first time ever. Camp Foster promises all of the outdoorsy activities that Ronnie has so far managed to avoid: ropes courses, scavenger hunts, kayaking on the lake. Ugh. But she can do this. As long as she has Jack.

As it turns out, an old manor in the woods is the kind of place that’s crawling with secrets. Secrets like a mysterious gwishin haunting the grounds, a blood-red scarf wrapped too tightly around her ghostly neck. And a witch-hunting dokkaebi intent on finding and silencing the last Rhee witch. And the strange habit all the counselors have of rhyming when they speak . . . just like Ronnie has begun to do lately.

For a girl who wants everything to stay the same, nothing is scarier than all the changes Camp Foster brings. New friends. New foes. Souls with unfinished business. And, possibly worst of all, revelations that disprove everything Ronnie knew to be true.

 

Praise for The Last Rhee Witch. . .

“A tale of friendship, family, and finding faith in the one percent. I couldn't put the book down, and was rhyming spells long after the last page was turned. With its satisfying and hopeful ending, The Last Rhee Witch was utterly bewitching!”
—Graci Kim, New York Times best-selling author of the Gifted Clans trilogy

“A bewitching tale of magic, mystery, and friendships new and old, The Last Rhee Witch is a book that readers won't soon forget.”
—Tracy Badua, award-winning author of Freddy vs. the Family Curse

The Last Rhee Witch is the perfect mix of the thrill of a ghost story told around a crackling fire and sweet s'mores full of heart. I instantly devoured this perfect eerie tale!”
—Julie Abe, author of the Eva Evergreen and Tessa Miyata series


Jenna Lee-Yun resides in Washington State with her husband, son, daughter, and mini-goldendoodle. The only thing she loves to do more than write middle-grade and young adult novels with a large cup of coffee is to make progress on her ever-growing TBR pile (with a large cup of coffee). The Last Rhee Witch is her debut novel.

Shana Targosz writes about magical girls, budding friendships, ghosts who may or may not be friendly, and fiercely-held hope. She is an Oregon Literary Arts Fellow and the 2021 recipient of the Edna L. Holmes Fellowship for Young Readers. Her debut novel The Underwild: River of Spirits will be published by Aladdin Books/Simon & Schuster in Spring 2025. When not writing or reading through a stack of books, she spends her time playing Zelda with her son, designing solo journaling games, walking her domesticated monster disguised as a Labradoodle, and dreaming up different worlds.


Want a signed edition of the featured book, but can't make it to the event? Order through our website or over the phone, and write your request for a signature or personalization in the comments field at checkout. Please call the hosting store if you're placing your order within 24 hours of the event.


Third Place Books Events Code of Conduct: Third Place Books is committed to ensuring the safety and well-being of event attendees and guest authors, during both online and in-store events. By registering for this event, you are agreeing to refrain from engaging in inappropriate behavior and harassment of any kind throughout the course of this event (i.e. racial slurs, profanity, hate speech, spam comments, etc.). Please note that any participants who engage in inappropriate behavior or harassment of any kind will be immediately ejected from the event.

For media inquiries, access inquiries, or questions about our Covid-19 policies, please email events@thirdplacebooks.com or call our Lake Forest Park store at (206) 366-3311.