Kelli Estes - Today We Go Home

USA Today bestselling author Kelli Estes returns with another fascinating dual time period novel that reveals America’s best-kept Civil War secret – women fought in the war disguised as men. Today We Go Home follows two characters from different eras, whose lives overlap in unforgettable ways. Perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Stephanie Dray, and historical fiction readers who love a dual narrative.

Seattle, Washington
Larkin Bennett has always known her place, whether it's surrounded by her loving family in the lush greenery of the Pacific Northwest or conducting a dusty patrol in Afghanistan. But all of that changed the day tragedy struck her unit and took away everything she held dear. Soon after, Larkin discovers an unexpected treasure--the diary of Emily Wilson, a young woman who disguised herself as a man to fight for the Union in the Civil War. As Larkin struggles to heal, she finds herself drawn deeply into Emily's life and the secrets she kept.

Indiana, 1861
The only thing more dangerous to Emily Wilson than a rebel soldier is the risk of her own comrades in the Union Army discovering her secret. But in the minds of her fellow soldiers, if it dresses like a man, swears like a man, and shoots like a man, it must be a man. As the war marches on and takes its terrible toll, Emily begins to question everything she thought she was fighting for.

Kelli Estes is the USA Today bestselling author of The Girl Who Wrote in Silk. She’s passionate about stories that help us see how the past shaped who we are today and how we all have more in common than not. She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her family.

Today We Go Home Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781492664185
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - September 3rd, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
The Girl Who Wrote in Silk Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781492608332
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - July 7th, 2015