Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Power Notebooks Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982128012
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Free Press - March 3rd, 2020

When Roiphe isn't unflinchingly examining her own flaws as what our society wants a woman to be, she is picking apart the very essence of femininity. Occasionally I felt skewered by the barbs she hurls heedlessly into the void, but ultimately I felt empowered to be my own flawed self and appreciate my power, be it soft, hard, or something altogether different.


Review by Kitri

Staff Pick Badge
salt slow Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250224774
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books - October 8th, 2019

With the recent trend of short story collections exploring the darker parts of womanhood, it can be difficult to dedicate your time to one book out of all the overwhelming options. However, Armfield's descent into body horror, queer desire, and personal monstrosity stands out due to the delicious decay surrounding her prose. Perfect for fans of Daisy Johnson and Carmen Maria Machado. 


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
Stay Sexy & Don't Get Murdered: The Definitive How-To Guide Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250178954
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Forge Books - May 28th, 2019

With the same refreshing honesty, wit, and fierce feminism that fans have come to love in their wildly successful podcast, Georgia and Karen present a blueprint for how to stay sexy and stay alive. From mental health to addiction; family, relationships, and loss, these autobiographical essays offer advice and commiseration without sacrificing self awareness and humor. Much of what makes their podcast so popular can be found in these pages-- perhaps most importantly, the gentle yet insistent reminder that we are not alone.


Review by Erin

Staff Pick Badge
Women & Power: A Manifesto Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781631494758
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Liveright - December 12th, 2017

Carrying this book feels like carrying a knife. Like a sharp and discreet weapon, it's easily brandished when confronted with the notion that power disparity among the sexes and "women's issues" are really a baseless non-issue. Beard takes an important step (one we could all take) to trace such insidious notions back to their dirty roots. 


Review by Dean

Staff Pick Badge
A Road Unforeseen: Women Fight the Islamic State Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781942658108
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Bellevue Literary Press - August 23rd, 2016

If you have any interest in the fight against totalitarian theocracy, then you must read A Road Unforeseen. I found it to be a thorough, well organized primer on Kurdistan, ISIS, and the self governing region known as Rojava. Meredith Tax is a phenomenal researcher, and makes this deeply complicated topic very readable. Still not convinced? THIS IS ABOUT WOMEN FIGHTING AN INSANE DEATH CULT.


Review by Anje