Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Totally Secret Secret (Ballet Cat #1) Cover Image
By Bob Shea, Bob Shea (Illustrator), Bob Shea (Cover design or artwork by)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781484713785
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 5th, 2015

Ballet Cat and Sparkles are best friends. Ballet Cat loves ballet, A LOT. Sparkles? Not so much. Ballet Cat notices Sparkles is unhappy and asks what's wrong. That's when Sparkles tells Ballet Cat a very SECRET secret. Which shocks Ballet Cat. But Ballet Cat has a secret too...

If you like Elephant and Piggie, you'll be fast friends with Ballet Cat and Sparkles in no time. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
Last Stop on Market Street Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399257742
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2015

An inclusive and affirming snapshot of city life, this picture book follows CJ and his grandmother as they depart church and take a bus ride to the very last stop on Market Street. CJ wishes they could take a car home, but his grandmother shows him the beauty that exists all around him in the city, especially on the city bus. Christian Robinson's illustrations are timeless and full of compassion that CJ learns along the way. A gorgeous read. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
The Pink Umbrella Cover Image
By Amelie Callot, Geneviève Godbout (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101919231
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Tundra Books - January 2nd, 2018

Do you love:

  • cafés with adorable proprietors
  • community-building fit to rival Stars Hollow's (sans Taylor)
  • spunky rainwear worn to combat seasonal affective disorder
  • frustratingly alluring colored pencil and pastel illustrations
  • any or all of the above?

Then this rom-com of a picturebook is for you!!


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
The Lotterys Plus One Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545925815
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - March 28th, 2017

Think Cheaper by the Dozen but WAY BETTER. When you have a big family, it's easy for things to lapse into pandemonium, but the Lotterys manage that delicate balance between chaos and calm with skillful co-parenting, mindful communication, and lots of affection. A loving, inclusive snapshot of a non-traditional family for fans of The Penderwicks, Clementine, and Ivy + Bean. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
The Wild Robot Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316382007
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 7th, 2020

This is not your average robot book. This robot book is also about: animals, what it means to be human, the environment, community-building, creating a family, and - most importantly - finding a home. Brown intersperses his text with his signature graphic illustrations, and his short chapters pack powerful punches while lending themselves well to reading aloud. Readers young and old will find themselves desperate for more robot Roz when this book ends. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
Love Cover Image
By Matt de la Peña, Loren Long (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524740917
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2018

Start 2018 off with this magnificent book about the minute yet powerful ways love can manifest in our lives. Matt de la Peña's lyrical prose, accompanied by Loren Long's lovingly crafted illustrations, celebrates the strength of expressing love in the face of hardship and challenging circumstances. A tour-de-force to be read on repeat and shared often with all ages. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
Grandma's Purse Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524714314
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2018

Sometimes you need help becoming your most authentic self from the sweet treats, fancy fun, and signature flourishes nestled in Grandma's bottomless bag! A delightful ode to grandmas everywhere, their Mary Poppins-esque pocketbooks, and the little ones that adore them. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
Fusion for Beginners and Experts (Steven Universe) Cover Image
By Rebecca Sugar, Angie Wang, Angie Wang (Illustrator)
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9781524784690
Availability: Unavailable at this time.
Published: Cartoon Network Books - December 26th, 2017

An earnest and purposeful and gently worded book about the significant and unique relationships between loved ones and an important book to guide discussions of bodily autonomy and decisions to share space - mental, physical, emotional - with others.

~SIDENOTE~

If you and your youngins are not watching Steven Universe, please reconsider. It is the best show for kids since Mr. Roger's Neighborhood. SERIOUSLY!


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
The Quickest Kid in Clarksville Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452129365
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Chronicle Books - February 9th, 2016

Alta knows she's the quickest kid in Clarksville, TN - Wilma Rudolph's hometown - even though her shoes are a little beat up. But Charmaine, in her snazzy new sneaks, thinks she can best Alta in a foot race. Frank Morrison's illustrations are a treat: he portrays both runners as contagiously exuberant and physics-defying. Though egos and body parts bruise, the two girls ultimately team together to keep moving forward. Sometimes, life is easier as a relay.


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
It's Shoe Time! (Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! #4) Cover Image
By Mo Willems, Bryan Collier, Mo Willems (Illustrator), Bryan Collier (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781484726471
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Hyperion Books for Children - November 7th, 2017

Searching for your next favorite beginning reader? Look no further than this clever, joke-filled book about a girl picking out a pair of shoes for a "Daddy-and-Me Day." Her unexpected choice has her anthropomorphic shoes worried that she's made a big mistake (though she's confident in her decision). Her unconventional choice is in fact deliberate and makes for a rather sweet moment between father and daughter. It's a sho(e)-in! smiley


Review by Niki

Pages