Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Thief (Queen's Thief #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062642967
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 28th, 2017

When I was in high school my dear friend Heather put this book in my hands, smiled mysteriously, and said, "Trust me." 

I devoured it in one sitting.

It is intricate, clever, and excruciatingly satisying. Pay close attention - Megan Whalen Turner is as tricky as her theif and you don't want to miss a thing!

This book came out in 1995. The final book in the series comes out next year. Now is the time folks - trust me.


Review by Allie

Staff Pick Badge
The Starless Sea: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385541213
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Doubleday - November 5th, 2019

I recommend sinking into The Starless Sea and luxuriating there. This is not a book to rush. The scope is enormous, the plot is stranger and intricate. This book will take you may places and you'll have to trust it but you should you're in very good hands. I found it delicious and rewarding.


Review by Allie

Staff Pick Badge
The Winter of the Witch: A Novel (Winternight Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101886014
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Del Rey - October 1st, 2019

Beginning with the first book, The Bear and the Nightingale, this beautiful fantasy trilogy is set in a version of medieval Russia in which history and myth coexist. In Witch yet more characters from Russian folklore are woven in as fiery heroine, Vasya, faces the foes of Moscow, Rus', and humanity... whether the powers that be are behind her or not.

 

I recommend reading this dark, mystical book on a chilly night (forecast looks promising) — but only after finishing the first two in the trilogy!


Review by Sarah

Staff Pick Badge
Circus Mirandus Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780147515544
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Puffin Books - August 16th, 2016

Micah knows what all children know, what imagination and their hearts (and exceptional adults like Micah's grandpa) tell them: miracles and magic are real, they exist just out of sight, and if you look at just the right time you can find them.  And Micah is just the sort of person we all want to be. Though he isn't perfect (or even perfectly confident) he is determined, he won't let life give him No for an answer, and he has a couple of people in his life who care enough about him to help in risky-crazy ways.


Review by Adam

Staff Pick Badge
Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250313195
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tor.com - September 10th, 2019

Who is Gideon Nav?

 

- Badass swordswoman

- Lover of women and smutty magazines

-  Hater of wretched old necrotic nuns and skeleton armies

- Bound in servitude to a power-hungry (maybe mad?) necromancer intent on making her life a living hell

- Absolutely f-in hilarious, even when under an oath of silence by aforementioned necromancer

- Looks like she could kill you, could definitely kill you, but is also actually a cinnamon roll

- Love of my life?! (and could be yours too, if you read this AMAZING book)


Review by Ashley

Staff Pick Badge
All of Us with Wings Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781641290340
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Soho Teen - June 18th, 2019

Is it fate that intertwines 17-yr-old Xochi and 12-yr-old Pallas, or is it simply kindred spirit? On the night of the Autumn Equinox, they cast a playful spell and summon two eerie, green forest children - "Water Babies" in Native American lore - but these creatures do more than cause vivid dreams. Told from multiple POV's (including a bookstore cat!) with interludes in verse and oral storytelling, Keil's debut is a lush, magical novel of first loves and found family. 

 

A delightfully dark "New Adult" read for fans of Francesca Lia Block, Sherman Alexie, and Hayao Miyazaki. 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Magic for Liars: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250174611
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tor Books - June 4th, 2019

If The Dresden Files and The Magicians had a book baby, this would be it. Our heroine is an ordinary private eye hired to solve a murder at a boarding school for magical teenagers. Unfortunately, it's also the school where her magical twin sister, Tabitha, works. As Ivy gets further involved in the inner workings of the school, its faculty, and its students, she questions her sanity and skill. Can she keep up appearances, find the killer, and reunite with Tabitha?

 

Excellent storytelling with a plot that had me guessing "whodunnit" until the last 50 pages.


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Spellslinger Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316525756
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Orbit - July 17th, 2018

De Castell's Spellslinger series is an adventure to take: magic, intrigue, exile, friends, enemies, frenemies, and eyeball eating Squirrel-Cats. The series has it all. I blazed my way through the first four books of Kellen's journeys and the fifth is almost here (out in May!).


Review by Alex

Staff Pick Badge
A Winter's Promise: Book One of the Mirror Visitor Quartet Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781609454838
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Europa Editions - September 25th, 2018

I think I’ve been waiting all my life to find this book. Or, perhaps, I’ve just been waiting for it to find me. With any translated novel there's a kind of unnameable wonder. So, I don’t know if it’s just the beauty of the translation itself from its original French text or something else entirely, but I haven’t read a book this magically alive since Harry Potter. Think of all your expectations of what a fantasy novel can be and know that this novel will surpass every single one. Gah! So this is love.


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
Fire Logic: An Elemental Logic Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781618730886
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Small Beer Press - January 29th, 2019

I love almost everything put out by Small Beer Press, and when I got a copy of Fire Logic in the mail, I read it and immediately blazed through the rest of the series. Fire Logic is the first in an epic fantasy series about a brutal civil war where every character and plot point pivots around history, philosophy, and the aftermath of violence. It's gentler, in later books, and slower than series like Erika Johansen's Tearling books or Ann Leckie's Radch series (though if you like Kalr 5 and her tea cups, you'll also love Garland and his ladle). The questions these books ask repeatedly are, what systems are working to narrow our choices? And what kind of radical thinking will allow us to see another path?


Review by Christina

Pages