Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Float Plan Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250767943
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 2nd, 2021

Float Plan turned my heart into a puddle. Anna's haphazard travels in the Carribean are an epic adventure to all of us trapped on dry land. And her newly-hired Irish deckhand, Keane, is an amalgam of all the best sexy cinnamon heroes in Romancelandia--prosthetic leg included. This is a grand adventure, a journey through grief, and, lest we forget the rules, a very satisfying happily ever after.

 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Make Up Break Up: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250761996
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - February 2nd, 2021

Two technology app developers go toe-to-toe for big funding in this delightful second chance, hate-to-love romantic comedy standalone. Drawn together by geography and the memory of a steamy week in Las Vegas, Annika and Hudson can't help but trick and torment one another.

Annika, creator of Make Up, knows her relationship fix-it AI will help people stay in love and work through their troubles. That is, if she can solve her money woes, get the app out of beta, and keep her office lease. 

Hudson, creator of Break Up, feels on top of the world with his success, splashy feature interviews, and a shiny new office. But to the woman he can't stop thinking about, his app--helping couples break up by offering on demand "terminators"--isn't changing the world for the better but in fact making it worse.

Make Up Break Up is a modern love story you'll share with friends for its realistic stakes, grounded characters, clever jokes, and supportive friends.  

 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Village: A Novel Cover Image
By Camilla Sten, Alexandra Fleming (Translated by)
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250249258
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: Minotaur Books - March 23rd, 2021

In the hot summer of 1959, all but two of the 800 inhabitants of the remote mining town of Silvertjarn, Sweden disappeared without a trace.  Only a crying newborn and the village outcast, stoned to death in the square, remained.  Now documentary filmmaker Alice and her crew of frenemies, several with ties to the region, have come to investigate.  But the evil that occupied Silvertjarn sixty years ago has not faded with time.  A spooky, atmospheric Nordic thriller that will keep you turning the pages!


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
The Windsor Knot: A Novel (Her Majesty the Queen Investigates #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063050006
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: William Morrow - March 9th, 2021

An absolutely delightful read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Alan Bradley, where Queen Elizabeth must step in to solve a mysterious death at Windsor Castle when England's top investigators have failed.  On the eve of the Queen's 90th birthday celebration, the Castle is full of guests, including a dashing young Russian pianist found dead in his guest room.  Is it an accident, suicide, a jealous husband or Putin's secret agents?  Only Her Majesty can solve this puzzling case!


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
Kink: Stories Cover Image
By R.O. Kwon (Editor), Garth Greenwell (Editor)
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982110215
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Simon & Schuster - February 9th, 2021

Almost every story in this collection was fantastic! All your faves are in this collection and I promise you, you will find something within that will resonate with you. 

Kudos to the two editors who put this collection together! Could not put it down.


Review by Rosa

Staff Pick Badge
Milk Blood Heat Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802158154
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Grove Press - February 2nd, 2021

A debut collection of short stories that hits hard and close to home. Each of us exists somewhere in the raw, unavoidable reality of these stories. I saw my own pain on the page, but many other times felt wrenched with empathy for losses I've never experienced. Moniz's prose is lyrical and flowing while acutely pinpointing the ways that grief, numbness, violence, and desire manifest in our minds and our bodies. Although the stories do not always give closure, this stunning look into the diverse, ordinary lives of Floridian families is not one to miss. 


Review by Jessie

Staff Pick Badge
We Run the Tides: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062936233
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ecco - February 9th, 2021

Vendela Vida makes the posh suburbs of 1980s San Francisco so oddly familiar and relatable in this wonderful coming-of-age novel about a couple of 13 year old girls, the eccentric Eulabee and her best friend, the decorous Maria Fabiola. Childhood friendships are full of love and laughter but at the same time messy and confusing, Vida perfectly captures the complexities of these formative years in a refreshing and authentic way. 


Review by Kalani

Staff Pick Badge
A Thousand Ships: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063065390
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Harper - January 26th, 2021

“A war does not ignore half the people whose lives it touches. So why do we?”

So says Calliope, muse of epic poetry. The poet calls on her for inspiration, and in this version, she will insist he tell the stories of the women of Greece and Troy, women who were always influential in the original saga, even if from the margins.

In this retelling of the Trojan War, Natalie Haynes crafts a nonlinear narrative, weaving together the myths of queens, oracles, daughters, wives, and goddesses. I found myself tossed about from one woman’s story to another, as if on Homer’s wine-dark sea.

 


Review by Sarah R

Staff Pick Badge
Chlorine Sky Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593176399
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 12th, 2021

I'm a sucker for a novel in verse! For fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jacqueline Woodson, Mahogany L. Browne writes the story of a teenage girl just trying to play basketball without getting too cold in her best friend's shadow. Her words bite but her voice is delicate, letting me relish in that dichotomy of girlhood. Chlorine Sky feels like the chemicals from the community pool and the sun setting orange, your fingers are pruny but it's just so beautiful. Five more minutes


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
The Song of Achilles: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062060624
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ecco - August 28th, 2012

I love fairytale/mythology retellings, so from the beginning I expected to enjoy this reimagining of Homer's Iliad, as told from Patroclus' perspective. I didn't expect to fall in love with this quiet and gentle story about legacy and how we choose to honor the ones we love. If you're on the fence about it, jump off and pick it up!

 


Review by Sarah B

Pages