Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga Cover Image
By Traci Sorell, Frane Lessac (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781580897723
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Charlesbridge - September 4th, 2018

As the year ends and we turn our focus to upcoming holidays, I want to highlight an Indigenous author to encourage readers of all ages to decolonize our bookshelves.

 

From Traci Sorrell, a citizen of the Cherokee Nation, We Are Grateful is a beautiful, reflective book that looks at the Cherokee practice of giving thanks as a family and as a community. "We are grateful," in the Cherokee language is otsaliheliga. This and other Cherokee words are sprinkled throughout these pages.


Review by Sarah R

Staff Pick Badge
All of Us with Wings Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781641290340
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Soho Teen - June 18th, 2019

Is it fate that intertwines 17-yr-old Xochi and 12-yr-old Pallas, or is it simply kindred spirit? On the night of the Autumn Equinox, they cast a playful spell and summon two eerie, green forest children - "Water Babies" in Native American lore - but these creatures do more than cause vivid dreams. Told from multiple POV's (including a bookstore cat!) with interludes in verse and oral storytelling, Keil's debut is a lush, magical novel of first loves and found family. 

 

A delightfully dark "New Adult" read for fans of Francesca Lia Block, Sherman Alexie, and Hayao Miyazaki. 


Review by Danielle