Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Boyfriend Material Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781728206141
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Sourcebooks Casablanca - July 7th, 2020

The fake boyfriend trope is a classic in romantic fiction, and when it’s done as wonderfully as it is in “Boyfriend Material,” you can see why. There is nothing more satisfying than learning to love two very different characters despite their quirks and flaws, knowing all the while that they are meant to be together. And if the journey to happily ever after involves the dung beetle, ridiculous puns and  the craziest, most wonderful cast of supporting characters ever assembled, all the better. Luc and Oliver will steal your heart.


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
My Brother's Husband, Volumes 1 & 2 (Pantheon Graphic Library) Cover Image
By Gengoroh Tagame, Anne Ishii (Translated by)
$29.95
ISBN: 9780375715181
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Pantheon - February 11th, 2020

I don't do 'cute' and I don't let my books get water damaged. Needless to say my copy of this affecting story about kinship and acceptance is thoroughly dampened with tears. Read it. Now.


Review by Dean

Staff Pick Badge
salt slow Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250224774
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books - October 8th, 2019

With the recent trend of short story collections exploring the darker parts of womanhood, it can be difficult to dedicate your time to one book out of all the overwhelming options. However, Armfield's descent into body horror, queer desire, and personal monstrosity stands out due to the delicious decay surrounding her prose. Perfect for fans of Daisy Johnson and Carmen Maria Machado. 


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
This Is How You Lose the Time War Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534431003
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - July 16th, 2019

This is a blossoming romance set among the rubble of incomprehensible destruction. This is not Doctor Who fan-fiction, nor is it the concrete, expository science fiction we're used to. This is for the dreamers who want to look through broken windows into another reality.


Review by Kitri