Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Dominant Animal: Stories Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374538293
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - April 7th, 2020

Bananas.
These tightly-compressed stories feel tied to some even more mysterious, elliptical tale that's been lying dormant in the reader's imagination for eons. Like some kind of ancient truth. 
I don't know that a book has ever left me feeling so vulnerable, like it knew me deeply. In my bones or some other new age nonsense. 
I'd wager this is what DMT feels like.


Review by Wesley

Staff Pick Badge
Clive Barker's Books of Blood 1-3 Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780425165584
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Berkley - October 1st, 1998

"There is no delight the equal of dread"

Clive Barker's artistic range is on full display in this toothsome collection of shorts: from haunted shrouds bent on revenge to possessed pigs, each tale is an allegory wrapped in viscera. Along with Angela Carter's 'The Bloody Chamber', 'Books of Blood' rests atop my list when it comes to short story collections. A truly bloody affair. 


Review by Dean

Staff Pick Badge
Heathcliff Redux: A Novella and Stories Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9780802147592
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - February 4th, 2020

Tuck is a master of minimalist refinement. Her prose is pared down and looks almost skeletal on the page but the mood and keen observations that swims in the blank spaces are shrewd and seductive.

Pure grace.


Review by Wesley

Staff Pick Badge
We Live in Water: Stories Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780061926624
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Harper Perennial - February 12th, 2013

I can't quite tell if Jess Walter is poking fun at or painting an affectionate portrait of the Inland Northwest here, which is part of what makes this collection so great. The stories - most of which are set in or around Spokane - find characters in situations that feel unique to the region. Yet thanks to the unique cast Walters presents us with - including people who are homeless, recently-divorced, ex-cons - mixed with his knack for excellent deadpan dialogue, you don't have to be from the area to enjoy them. 


Review by Connor

Sing to It: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781982109127
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scribner - November 12th, 2019

There's a good reason every writer you love loves Hempel.

 


Review by Wesley

Staff Pick Badge
salt slow Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250224774
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books - October 8th, 2019

With the recent trend of short story collections exploring the darker parts of womanhood, it can be difficult to dedicate your time to one book out of all the overwhelming options. However, Armfield's descent into body horror, queer desire, and personal monstrosity stands out due to the delicious decay surrounding her prose. Perfect for fans of Daisy Johnson and Carmen Maria Machado. 


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
A Lucky Man: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555978433
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Graywolf Press - June 4th, 2019

A Lucky Man was one of the best books of fiction I read, and then some, in the year of its debut. Brinkley can illuminate and expose seemingly any corner of humanity, with equal compassion and precision. His writing is so powerful and graceful at once that it feels balletic, with a dancer's way of making an incredible feat seem simple and easy.


Review by Christina

Staff Pick Badge
Someone Who Will Love You in All Your Damaged Glory: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781524732011
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Knopf - June 11th, 2019

Funny, dark and often absurd, this debut collection of short stories from the creator of the hit animated series "BoJack Horseman" is a winner. There is heartbreak aplenty, a door into a parallel universe and a theme park, featuring the U.S. presidents with large foam heads. But for me, the goat-infused wedding at the heart of "A Most Blessed and Auspicious Occasion" was itself worth the price of admission.


Review by Mark B.

Staff Pick Badge
Everything Inside: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525521273
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Knopf - August 27th, 2019

The epigraph of Edwidge Danticat's new story collection generously claims that everyone experiences diaspora, as we are exiled from our mother's body as soon as we are born. What follows are stories that strive to prove its' universality with equal attention to tenderness and brutality. In this collection that lingers on family and death, she has tapped directly into the core of human experience. This book will make you cry, probably in public, so prepare accordingly.


Review by Kitri

Staff Pick Badge
The Best of Richard Matheson Cover Image
By Richard Matheson, Victor LaValle (Editor), Victor LaValle (Introduction by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143130178
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Penguin Classics - October 10th, 2017

Do you like the Twilight Zone? Of course you do. But you might not know Richard Matheson. And you should, because arguably the most iconic episodes were adapted from his masterfully-written short fiction. Each story is so tightly crafted as to border on pulp, each ending twists with a stinger that demands your return. If I'm on a plane: 1) I have a Richard Matheson collection in my carry on and 2) I'm not going to look at the wing of the plane. Yeah. He wrote that. 


Review by Dean

Pages