Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524738297
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Philomel Books - October 10th, 2017

Ambition always has a price - and if you're Xifeng, who's heard over and over from her aunt's dark fortunetelling cards that one day, her incredible beauty will lead her to become Empress, you aren't sure it's a price you want to pay. So with her boyfriend Wei, she runs away from her fear and her aunt's cruelties towards the capital city. She's smart, determined, and to her surprise, she has a knack for getting ahead when others fail. But something inhuman, magical, and very, very old begins to whisper in Xifeng's ear. How far can she rise? And sacrifice - does she have to be the one to make it? Or...can someone else take her place? Julie Dao's book is a must-read for fans of Kendare Blake, Marie Lu, and Laini Taylor.


Review by Christina

Staff Pick Badge
M.F.K. Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781683830047
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Insight Comics - September 26th, 2017

Kickbutt protagonist Abbie has superpowers that get her in trouble wherever she goes, but she's trying to return her mother's ashes to her homeland. Magruder's art style shifts seamlessly from lush and expansive to quirky and expressive as she respectively focuses on world- and character-building. For fans of Marjorie Liu, Faith Erin Hicks, and those who wish Cece Bell's El Deafo was set in a dystopian desert wasteland. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
American Street Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062473042
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 14th, 2017

Fabiola arrives in Detroit after her mother is detained on entry to the U.S. from Haiti. Fabiola knows that her new home with her aunt and teenage cousins will always feel empty without her mother, so she resolves to do everything in her power to get her mother released - even if that means confronting harsh truths about her Americanized aunt and cousins. Equal parts heart-wrenching and - warming, Zoboi's expertly woven novel will touch readers' souls and embolden their spirits. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
Truly Devious: A Mystery Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062338068
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - December 4th, 2018

The first in a trilogy of mysteries featuring Stevie Bell, the crime fanatic and new student at a quirky, yet prestigious New England boarding school. Without telling you everything that is on the inside flap, let me just say this book is dark, gripping, funny - and will leave you howling for the next one. I loved it.


Review by Kitri

Staff Pick Badge
Meet Cute Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328759870
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - January 2nd, 2018

This short story collection celebrates the chance encounters and first connections that teens invariably make in their romantic lives. The stories are diverse in genre and perspective, and flutter with balanced doses of hope and heartbreak. Read somewhere cozy with a cup of something warm and sweet. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
Unearthed Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484758052
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2018

A sci-fi bender that details what would happen if Lara Croft and Indiana Jones reluctantly teamed up to decode and ancient alien message in an ancient alien temple. 

Read while waiting for OBSIDIO, the final book in the Third Place bookseller-beloved Illuminae trilogy.


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
In Other Lands Cover Image
By Sarah Rees Brennan, Carolyn Nowak (Illustrator)
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9781618731203
Availability: Out of print
Published: Big Mouth House - August 15th, 2017

Elliott is pretty sure magic land is awful: everyone appreciates sword fighting more than a witty comeback; his teachers at the Border School refuse to let him sensibly use a pencil instead of a quill; and even though elves, dwarves, mermaids, and harpies are real, they seem hellbent on fighting endless wars with each other. But it's better than home in the real world. And he has two best friends (if his constant rage and sarcasm don't drive them away): a warrior elf maiden, and a shy jock with a big secret. This is a smart, sweet, hilarious book that truly made me laugh out loud.


Review by Christina

Staff Pick Badge
Berserker Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250180766
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Square Fish - October 16th, 2018

This violent, glorious book is about a 16 year old female Berserker who has to flee Norway in 1883 for the American West in order to evade the strictures of the law long enough to seek guidance from a long lost uncle who just may be able to help her contain her instinct to mercilessly slaughter anyone who threatens her family.

Berserker combines all the best parts of Norse mythology, historical fiction, and a solid Western. Think Vikings meets True Grit.


Review by Anje

Staff Pick Badge
Jane, Unlimited Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147513106
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Speak - July 10th, 2018

The author of the wonderful Graceling trilogy has written a charming standalone mystery with 5 different outcomes - all based on a single choice. ROMANCE! INTRIGUE! ESPIONAGE! ART THEFT! UMBRELLAS! Suspend your disbelief and go with Jane to Tu Reveins. You won't regret it. 


Review by Kitri

Staff Pick Badge
The Darkest Part of the Forest Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316213080
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 19th, 2016

We meet brother and sister, Ben and Hazel, at a typical high school party. Atypical is the glass coffin in the middle of the party which holds a sleeping prince with pointed ears and horns. He's never woken until one night, he does, and adventure, struggle, and the fight against the Darkest Part of the forest begins. This is a book you will never want to end, and Hazel is a protagonist you'll never want to leave. 


Review by Jaimie

Pages