Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
All-Night Pharmacy: A Novel By Ruth Madievsky Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781646221509
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Catapult - July 11th, 2023

For fans of Jen Beagin and Melissa Broder, you'll love this lightning bolt of a book. It bit me, it patted my head, it ran me over, it held my hand. Madievsky writes about drugs, wandering around your early 20's, the unmatched and sometimes dangerous obligation of the sisterly bond, Russian and Jewish heritage, psychics and the sense of believing in something so much; I was entranced.


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
Distant Fathers By Marina Jarre, Ann Goldstein (Translator) Cover Image
By Marina Jarre, Ann Goldstein (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781939931948
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: New Vessel Press - June 22nd, 2021

A Memoir of facism, childhood, and then motherhood in early 20th century Italy, written in a unique, pointillist style made famous (relatively speaking) by the stylings of Annie Ernaux or the fiction of Renata Adler. Jarre's speciality is writing the unspoken peculiarities of childhood. Read the first paragraph and tell me you wouldn't read 200 pages of Jarre's work. An immense story of a life. 


Review by Spencer R.