Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Sweat: A History of Exercise By Bill Hayes Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781620402306
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - January 17th, 2023

If you care about exercise as much  as I do, which isn't much, you should still read this book. This is not a comprehensive dive into the history of exercise. And while he does explore major players and events on the fitness timeline, this is really more of a memoir/travelogue/delightful anthropological study. Bill Hayes has this amazing ability to truly connect with the people he meets. His compassion and kindness towards humankind are on full display, and lest you fear sentimentality, his dry wit and humor are here too. Complete with cameos from Oliver Sacks and RBG, this book is informative, funny, warm, and surprisingly poignant. I would read Bill Hayes write about anything...yes, even exercise. 


Review by Erin

Staff Pick Badge
The Death of Vivek Oji: A Novel By Akwaeke Emezi Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525541622
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Riverhead Books - May 25th, 2021

In the wake of beloved outcast Vivek's death, their friends and family, as well as those only tenuously connected to their life, spill forth details both intimate and insignificant to build a complete character taken from the world before they could truly bloom. Emezi's talents shine brightest when they delicately  dance around genres, from crime noir to multigenerational tale to supernatural, and some of the most heart-squeezing moments occur when Vivek speaks briefly from beyond the grave, letting their voice be heard above the din.


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
salt slow By Julia Armfield Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250224781
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books - October 4th, 2022

With the recent trend of short story collections exploring the darker parts of womanhood, it can be difficult to dedicate your time to one book out of all the overwhelming options. However, Armfield's descent into body horror, queer desire, and personal monstrosity stands out due to the delicious decay surrounding her prose. Perfect for fans of Daisy Johnson and Carmen Maria Machado. 


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
The Merry Spinster: Tales of Everyday Horror By Daniel M. Lavery Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250113429
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Holt Paperbacks - March 13th, 2018

What if the Wind in the Willows was less of a warm-hearted tale about forest friends and more about a sinister plot to gaslight Mr. Toad? What if the Velveteen Rabbit was a cold-blooded sociopath intent on becoming Real, no matter the cost? The reimagined fairy tales in the Merry Spinster answer these questions and ones I didn't even know I had.


Review by Sarah C.