Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Lost Saints: A Cuban American Family Saga of Love, Betrayal, and Revolution By Daniel José Older Cover Image
$26.99
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9781250185815
Published: Imprint - November 5th, 2019

I could not put this book down. Marisol's spirit visits her nephew Ramon in modern-day New Jersey and prompts him to unearth painful family history and discover what happened to her after she disappeared during the Cuban Revolution. This story is many things - funny, heart-warming, captivating - and it is one of the few books that can make me laugh and cry while reading the same page.



Staff Pick Badge
The House of Impossible Beauties: A Novel By Joseph Cassara Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062676993
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Ecco - November 6th, 2018

If you have seen Paris is Burning or Netflix's Pose, you should read this book. This story is a fictionalized telling of the real House of Xtravaganza family members as they navigate 1980's New York, from walking in balls to walking the piers. Cassara shows us the dangers that can come with finding one's way in a bigoted society and shines a light on the strength, determination, and humor of these characters who ache to be seen.



Staff Pick Badge
In the Dream House: A Memoir By Carmen Maria Machado Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781644450383
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Graywolf Press - December 1st, 2020

In picking the carcass of her own experience, Carmen Maria Machado has written a new kind of memoir. Short vignettes, told through kaleidoscopic lenses, are pieced together by the reader—not that it feels anything like work. It feels more like therapy.


Review by Kitri

Staff Pick Badge
All of Us with Wings By Michelle Ruiz Keil Cover Image
$10.99
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9781641291354
Published: Soho Teen - July 7th, 2020

Is it fate that intertwines 17-yr-old Xochi and 12-yr-old Pallas, or is it simply kindred spirit? On the night of the Autumn Equinox, they cast a playful spell and summon two eerie, green forest children - "Water Babies" in Native American lore - but these creatures do more than cause vivid dreams. Told from multiple POV's (including a bookstore cat!) with interludes in verse and oral storytelling, Keil's debut is a lush, magical novel of first loves and found family. 

A delightfully dark "New Adult" read for fans of Francesca Lia Block, Sherman Alexie, and Hayao Miyazaki. 



Staff Pick Badge
Tears of the Trufflepig: A Novel By Fernando A. Flores Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780374538330
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - May 14th, 2019

If Haruki Murikami had been born in Mexico and raised in southern Texas, this is the book he would have written. It's futuristic and hallucinogenic look at that region gives us a unique and welcome lens to view the border. 


Review by Robert

Staff Pick Badge
We Set the Dark on Fire By Tehlor Kay Mejia Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062691323
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 14th, 2020

Latinx culture. Near-future fantasy island. Espionage and arranged marriage. Queer romance.

In short, a gripping feminist story with excellent stakes, world-building, and character development that ends in a cliff-hanger. Let's just say I need book two of this duology immediately.



Staff Pick Badge
Things We Lost in the Fire: Stories By Mariana Enriquez, Megan McDowell (Translated by) Cover Image
By Mariana Enriquez, Megan McDowell (Translated by)
$24.00
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9780451495112
Published: Hogarth - February 21st, 2017

This book is a twisted bramble, ripe with grimy tales that really satisfy. Enriquez's voice entertains, educates, and terrifies. "I like dark themes,' she says, "...I would say it's my way of looking at things." amen, sister.



Staff Pick Badge
The House of Broken Angels By Luis Alberto Urrea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316154895
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Back Bay Books - March 5th, 2019

Focused on the intertwined lives of a Mexican-American family and the final birthday of their dying but defiant patriarch, Urrea's story of the Mexican diaspora is both heartbreaking and hopeful. 


Review by Sarah C.

Pages