Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Bringing Down the Duke (A League of Extraordinary Women #1) By Evie Dunmore Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984805683
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Berkley - September 3rd, 2019

Heartwarming and brilliant! A wintry historical romance perfect for fans of Sarah MacLean and Olivia Waite. Realistic stakes paired with rigid class boundaries set the stage for a bluestocking women's suffragist and a noble Tory political strategist to fall hopelessly in love. 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Fingersmith By Sarah Waters Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781573229722
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Riverhead Books - October 1st, 2002

Whew! What a ride! Allow me a moment to loosen my bodice that I may think more clearly... there we are! This is a gothic, neo-Victorian, deeply Dickensian mystery with gut-punching twists. Sue was raised in a house of thieves in the Burroughs of London where she is scooped up into a plot to swindle a naive heiress out of her fortune. Would that it were so simple. This book has it all: Drama, deceit, history, mad houses, eccentric villains, lesbian romance, all the good stuff.


Review by Dean