Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Lotterys Plus One By Emma Donoghue, Caroline Hadilaksono (Illustrator) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545925846
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Inc. - July 31st, 2018

Think Cheaper by the Dozen but WAY BETTER. When you have a big family, it's easy for things to lapse into pandemonium, but the Lotterys manage that delicate balance between chaos and calm with skillful co-parenting, mindful communication, and lots of affection. A loving, inclusive snapshot of a non-traditional family for fans of The Penderwicks, Clementine, and Ivy + Bean. 



Staff Pick Badge
The Wild Robot By Peter Brown Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316382007
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 7th, 2020

This is not your average robot book. This robot book is also about: animals, what it means to be human, the environment, community-building, creating a family, and—most importantly—finding a home. Brown intersperses his text with his signature graphic illustrations, and his short chapters pack powerful punches while lending themselves well to reading aloud. Readers young and old will find themselves desperate for more robot Roz when this book ends. 



Staff Pick Badge
Love By Matt de la Peña, Loren Long (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Matt de la Peña, Loren Long (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524740917
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2018

Start 2018 off with this magnificent book about the minute yet powerful ways love can manifest in our lives. Matt de la Peña's lyrical prose, accompanied by Loren Long's lovingly crafted illustrations, celebrates the strength of expressing love in the face of hardship and challenging circumstances. A tour-de-force to be read on repeat and shared often with all ages. 



Staff Pick Badge
Grandma's Purse By Vanessa Brantley-Newton Cover Image
$8.99
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9781984849762
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - April 2nd, 2019

Sometimes you need help becoming your most authentic self from the sweet treats, fancy fun, and signature flourishes nestled in Grandma's bottomless bag! A delightful ode to grandmas everywhere, their Mary Poppins-esque pocketbooks, and the little ones that adore them. 




Staff Pick Badge
The Quickest Kid in Clarksville By Pat Zietlow Miller, Frank Morrison (Illustrator) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452129365
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Chronicle Books - February 9th, 2016

Alta knows she's the quickest kid in Clarksville, TN—Wilma Rudolph's hometown—even though her shoes are a little beat up. But Charmaine, in her snazzy new sneaks, thinks she can best Alta in a foot race. Frank Morrison's illustrations are a treat: he portrays both runners as contagiously exuberant and physics-defying. Though egos and body parts bruise, the two girls ultimately team together to keep moving forward. Sometimes, life is easier as a relay.



Staff Pick Badge
It's Shoe Time! (Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! #4) By Mo Willems Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781484726471
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Hyperion Books for Children - November 7th, 2017

Searching for your next favorite beginning reader? Look no further than this clever, joke-filled book about a girl picking out a pair of shoes for a "Daddy-and-Me Day." Her unexpected choice has her anthropomorphic shoes worried that she's made a big mistake (though she's confident in her decision). Her unconventional choice is in fact deliberate and makes for a rather sweet moment between father and daughter. This early reader is a sho(e)-in for your bookshelf. (I'll see myself out.)



Staff Pick Badge
Where's Halmoni? (Halmoni & Family) By Julie Kim Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781632170774
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Little Bigfoot - October 3rd, 2017

When Noona and Joon arrive at their grandmother's (the titular Halmoni's) house only to discover she's disappeared, they embark on a journey to find her. Along the way, they meet many vibrant characters from Korean folktales—a handy language guide and detailed back matter help Western readers fully understand this story's context—eat lots of snacks, and play an intense game of rock, paper, scissors with a tiger! This graphic novel will entice readers fond of strong siblings, clever problem-solving, and impeccable book design!!



Staff Pick Badge
Worm Loves Worm By J. J. Austrian, Mike Curato (Illustrator) Cover Image
By J. J. Austrian, Mike Curato (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062386335
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 5th, 2016

Worm loves Worm, and they want to get married. Thing is, all of their friends have ideas about what Worm and Worm need to get married. Worm and Worm want to appease their friends but they don't really care if they wear rings, bow ties, veils. Worm and Worm want to get married because they love each other. This beautifully straightforward picture book celebrates love above all else, and it demonstrates how easy it is to rewrite "how it's always been done."



Staff Pick Badge
The Dam Keeper, Book 1 By Robert Kondo, Dice Tsutsumi Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781626724266
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: First Second - September 26th, 2017

Pig has been a diligent and devoted protector of Sunrise Valley ever since his father, the Dam Builder, walked into the deadly fog. Pig keeps the Dam safe and secure so the fog doesn't roll in and destroy the entire town. But the fog keeps getting stronger and, one day, breaks off a piece of the dam—with Pig, Hippo, and Fox inside. The animated feel (both creators worked for Pixar) will leave readers breathless and eagerly awaiting the second installment!



Pages