Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Everyone on This Train Is a Suspect: A Novel By Benjamin Stevenson Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063279070
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Mariner Books - January 30th, 2024

What do you do after your dysfunctional family reunion leads to murder, headlines and the birth of your career as a crime author? Do you sit around waiting for inspiration to strike? If you're Ernest Cunningham, author of "Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone," you jump at the chance to board Australia's version of the Orient Express for a mystery writers' convention. If you're anybody other than Ernest, you hope history doesn't repeat itself, but if you are Ernest you expect murder will follow. All Ernest can hope is that 6 famous crime authors can solve a murder (or two!), survive the journey and maybe even write a bestseller about it.


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
Need a House? Call Ms. Mouse! By George Mendoza, Doris Susan Smith (Illustrator) Cover Image
By George Mendoza, Doris Susan Smith (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781681377360
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: NYR Children's Collection - June 13th, 2023

Meet the world's hardest working architect, Henriette Mouse, as she designs and builds homes for all of her animal neighbors.

 


Review by Sarah B.

Staff Pick Badge
Harold By Steven Wright Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781668022696
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 16th, 2023

The great Steven Wright has taken the situation of a 7-year-old boy daydreaming in class and written a beautiful novel out of it, using his signature absurd humor to explore topics like the nature of reality, birds, friendship, Carl Sagan and more. Those familiar with the comedian will be happy to find plenty of his strange philosophical insight, yet this book will also appeal to fans of authors like Saramago, Calvino or Kundera.


Review by Connor

Staff Pick Badge
Leg: The Story of a Limb and the Boy Who Grew from It By Greg Marshall Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781419763601
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Harry N. Abrams - June 13th, 2023

Greg Marshall is super smart, and super funny, and some super shitty things have happened to him. So get ready for some truly hilarious grief. 

Fresh and original, I really, really recommend this funny, insightful, uplifting memoir. You'll laugh and cry, and maybe even blush a little. 

Hands down, my favorite book of the year. And definitely my new favorite author. 


Review by Erin

Staff Pick Badge
Your Driver Is Waiting: A Novel By Priya Guns Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593469330
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Vintage - January 9th, 2024

Damani is one of the most memorable main characters I've ever had the pleasure of reading! Fast paced, funny, sharp and full of deadly lines that sink into you. For sure one of the best books I've read so far this year. 


Review by Rosa

Staff Pick Badge
Adult Assembly Required By Abbi Waxman Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593198766
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Berkley - May 17th, 2022

Abbi Waxman has done it again! Alongside some of your favorite Bookish Life of Nina Hill characters, Laura & the other residents of Maggie's house will surely encourage all of us "adults" to cut ourselves a break, take a leap of faith, and find (or finally recognize) the people that feel like home. 


Review by Katelynn


Staff Pick Badge
Mina By Matthew Forsythe, Matthew Forsythe (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481480413
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - February 15th, 2022

The enchanting illustrations and increasingly amusing tale made this book an instant favorite. Mina is usually fine with her father's eccentric finds, like the stick bugs with their charismatic voices, but she's a little skeptical of the new squirrel he brings home, especially when the squirrel refuses to eat - not even acorns!


Review by Sarah B.

Staff Pick Badge
Bathe the Cat By Alice B. McGinty, David Roberts (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Alice B. McGinty, David Roberts (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781452142708
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Chronicle Books - February 8th, 2022

As anyone fortunate enough to live with a cat will tell you, cats generally don't do anything they don't want to do. This hilarious, rhyming read-aloud shows you exactly how far a cat will go to avoid being bathed.


Review by Sarah B.

Staff Pick Badge
Hana Khan Carries On By Uzma Jalaluddin Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593336366
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Berkley - April 13th, 2021

This book made me so happy. Not just because it has an adorable You've Got Mail set up (with 2 competing Halal restaurants and via a podcast instead of email) but also for the depth and many layers this story has about family, community, and the power of telling your own story. And yes, this book IS calling your name.



Pages