Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Berry Pickers: A Novel By Amanda Peters Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781646221950
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Catapult - October 31st, 2023

A touching piece of character-driven fiction that illustrates the heartbreak and resilience of a Canadian Indigenous family broken apart. A 4-year-old Mi'kmaq girl's disappearance from a blueberry farm in Maine haunts her brother Joe across decades of his life. Meanwhile, Norma, a young woman raised by a white, affluent family, is discouraged from questioning her darker skin or troublesome dreams. The Berry Pickers is a tender story about family lost and found that is beautifully written-- I loved every minute. 


Review by Jess

Winter Counts: A Novel By David Heska Wanbli Weiden Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062968951
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ecco - July 6th, 2021

Weiden's debut is a fast-paced page turner about complex modern justice and drug trafficking, with a big, beating heart that flushes its pages with compassion. Don't miss out on this one! For fans of S.A. Cosby, Lee Child, Marcy Rendon, and Don Winslow.


Review by Christina

Staff Pick Badge
Thinning Blood: A Memoir of Family, Myth, and Identity By Leah Myers Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781324036708
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 16th, 2023

This memoir beautifully weaves personal and family history with stories that represent each animal that forms her family totem. Myers grapples with her at times warring identities. She explores topics such as Indigenous portrayals in popular media, violence against Native women, the death of a language, and anti-Native laws and infrastructures. She is deeply introspective and candid about her loves, losses, battles, and scars.


Review by Lauren

Staff Pick Badge
We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga By Traci Sorell, Frane Lessac (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Traci Sorell, Frane Lessac (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781580897723
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Charlesbridge - September 4th, 2018

As the year ends and we turn our focus to upcoming holidays, I want to highlight an Indigenous author to encourage readers of all ages to decolonize our bookshelves.

 

From Traci Sorrell, a citizen of the Cherokee Nation, We Are Grateful is a beautiful, reflective book that looks at the Cherokee practice of giving thanks as a family and as a community. "We are grateful," in the Cherokee language is otsaliheliga. This and other Cherokee words are sprinkled throughout these pages.



Staff Pick Badge
#Notyourprincess: Voices of Native American Women By Charleyboy (Editor), Leatherdale (Editor) Cover Image
By Charleyboy (Editor), Leatherdale (Editor)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781554519576
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Annick Press - September 12th, 2017

An incredible collection of words, art, photos, and expressions of Indigenous women by Indigenous women. This volume celebrates and amplifies the voices of these women and girls, who are so often silenced by white folks, by governments, by institutions, by men. 

Open this book and listen with open ears and open hearts.