Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Agatha of Little Neon: A Novel By Claire Luchette Cover Image
$26.00
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9780374265267
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - August 3rd, 2021

Written in short, delicious chapters, this tangle with sisterhood lodged in my chest as I read. Every sentence reshapes the mundane bits of life through the the heart-tugging questions of what faith means and where we find it, whether that's in a bright green halfway house, a donut shop, or a church filled with feathers just to make someone laugh. Gorgeous! 



Staff Pick Badge
Last Resort: A Novel By Andrew Lipstein Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250863034
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Picador - January 17th, 2023

An outrageous plot too good to be taken anything less than seriously: a listless but talented writer steals the idea for his debut novel from a former acquaintance, and an unbelievable deal is made to cover up the scandal that ensues. A novel about literary success and moral conundrums (and love, and relationships, and author readings at bookstores) as sharp as winter wind in Lipstein's top notch prose. You'll put this book down both shocked and fulfilled.


Review by Spencer R.


Staff Pick Badge
The Love Parade By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator) Cover Image
By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781646051137
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - January 11th, 2022

The Love Parade stands out as a fascinating addition to Pitol's unsolveable mysteries and glassy realism. Complete with a cantankerous bookseller, an array of monologue-sick characters (like Dante's dead), and a futile search for answers (or is it?), George Henson's new translation is sure to delight.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
Samuel Johnson's Eternal Return By Martin Riker Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566895286
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Coffee House Press - October 9th, 2018

One of my favorite hidden gems. Martin Riker—the co-publisher of Dorothy, A Publishing Project—pens a novel that spans decades of life both remarkable and comically dull. After Samuel Johnson dies, he finds himself in a liminal state, his soul jumping from body to living body in earthbound purgatory, in search of his son and the meaning behind our quiet lives.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
The Things We've Seen By Agustín Fernández Mallo, Thomas Bunstead (Translator) Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781913097301
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Fitzcarraldo Editions - August 3rd, 2021

Agustín Fernández Mallo's magnum opus is a monstrous book that reaches out and touches everything—love and sentimentalism, war, our pitiful human intelligence, moon landings, physics and dead stars, car chases, Facebook, rooftop tomato gardens—yet is somehow still accessible in Thomas Bunstead's elegant translation. You can't walk away from this novel without feeling brutally changed. There are one-liners that will digest you whole. After 600 pages, you'll realize you've been standing next to a mountain. For readers of W.G. Sebald and Daša Drndić.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
The Tsar of Love and Techno: Stories By Anthony Marra Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780770436452
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Hogarth - July 19th, 2016

Upon finishing this book I wept inconsolably. Marra has woven together this collection of short stories into a tender and heart-wrenching story that has an irrevocably haunting (in the best way) impact on me. 



Staff Pick Badge
Popisho: A Novel By Leone Ross Cover Image
$28.00
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9780374602451
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - April 20th, 2021

There's something about islands. In the islands of Popisho everything is brighter, more delicious, and the people are more magical, growing lungs on their hips or crying hummingbirds or instantly knowing what to cook for any person. If you're aching to travel but can't, read this book! I felt immediately at home in this unreal community, learning words I couldn't define but by the end somehow understood.

 



Staff Pick Badge
Harrow: A novel (Kirkus Prize) (Vintage Contemporaries) By Joy Williams Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984898807
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Vintage - July 5th, 2022

In Harrow, Joy Williams doesn't write precocious child narrators so much as she writes all-seeing child gods. Funny as hell, full of nonsense and uncontrolled wit, this stunning, death-hurtling novel is certainly one of the best Williams has ever produced. It's a pleasure to be alive to see it.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
An Ideal Presence By Eduardo Berti, Daniel Levin Becker (Translator) Cover Image
$18.00
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9781735297309
Published: Fern Books - September 7th, 2021

The inaugural publication from Fern Books, AN IDEAL PRESENCE is a book about death, dying, care, and the cold logistics of it all. A work of fiction by an OuLiPian with the fatal energy of Alice Oswald's Memorial, I was as amazed by this polyphonic novel as I was humbled by its reverence for the profession of caregiving in our often unremarkable final hours. An instant favorite.


Review by Spencer R.

Pages