Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Heaven By Emerson Whitney Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781952119545
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: McSweeney's - November 1st, 2022

Vulnerable and messy in all the right ways, Whitney's examination of the body, motherhood, femininity, gender, and childhood is a whole gallery of art.


Review by Sofia

Staff Pick Badge
What It Takes to Save a Life: A Veterinarian's Quest for Healing and Hope By Kwane Stewart Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780063215825
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HarperOne - May 16th, 2023

If you have a pet, if you've ever had a pet, or if you just love animals--read this book!

If you've ever struggled in your life and another creature was the only thing that kept you going--read this book!

If you also follow @projectstreetvet on social media and see the incredible work they do with the unhoused communities of CA--read this book!


Review by Katelynn

Staff Pick Badge
Everything/Nothing/Someone: A Memoir By Alice Carrière Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781954118294
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Spiegel & Grau - August 29th, 2023

My favorite book of 2023.

What initially feels familiar in tone and topic gives way to a complex, unique healing journey unlike anything I've ever read. 
Carriere's voice is commanding and lays bare the knotty nature of trauma with striking lucidity.


Review by Wes

Staff Pick Badge
The Night Parade: A Speculative Memoir By Jami Nakamura Lin Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063213234
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Mariner Books - November 7th, 2023

In a departure from the traditions of memoir, Lin seamlessly blends personal essay with folk and fairytale in the form of a yōkai bestiary to achieve a more meaningful, emotional truth about the monsters within. The book touches on painful subjects of cancer, loss, and mental health with rewarding vulnerability. Great for fans of In the Dream House or The Collected Schizophrenias, but it’s a one-of-a-kind read!


Review by Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Plums for Months: Memories of a Wonder-Filled, Neurodivergent Childhood By Zaji Cox Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781942436539
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Forest Avenue Press - May 9th, 2023

This beautiful collection of essays reads like a series of childhood memories languidly leading towards adulthood and a more complete realization of self. Landing somewhere between essays, memoir and poetry, this book transports you to the 100-year-old house of Cox's childhood where her imagination ran free, she communed with stray cats and she wrote her first stories. The author herself best describes how I felt at the end: 
"It's too soon when we are pulled back to reality to discuss it. I don't know how to articulate the rainbow neon swirl of feeling happening inside of me, and so I sit, reeling in the best way."


Review by Natalie

Staff Pick Badge
Goth: A History By Lol Tolhurst Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780306828423
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Hachette Books - September 26th, 2023

A most comprehensive and truly sweet memoir, manifesto, and ode to a movement, a genre, the Cure's origins, and Goth music and culture as a whole. Goth is and always has been more than cobwebs and heavy synths and black eyeliner and screamo and religious motifs and ethereal motions, and is a recognition and admiration of a darkness that's always there. It's a wondrous attempt to find, create, and give meaning to pre-established invitations of anti-authority, etc. from punk, etc. Get in the car kids—we're blasting 'Bela Lugosi Is Dead' and getting ice cream on the way to the cemetery. 

 


Review by Sofia

Staff Pick Badge
She Come By It Natural: Dolly Parton and the Women Who Lived Her Songs By Sarah Smarsh Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781982157296
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scribner - September 7th, 2021

"I owe the boldness that I tapped to the poor women in my blood." pg. 59

My grandma, Brenda Joyce, was a big fan of dancing barefoot in the kitchen--especially when Dolly came on. This book felt like talking with her. 

Pairs well with too-sweet tea and the song Here You Come Again.


Review by Katelynn

Staff Pick Badge
How Far the Light Reaches: A Life in Ten Sea Creatures By Sabrina Imbler Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780316540506
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Back Bay Books - January 9th, 2024

Are you scared of what lies below the surface? Don't be! Or do. I don't know your life. But Imbler is able to make the creatures that live there so reachable (you'll learn something!) while not reaching too far to liken them to their own life (you'll feel something) on their mission toward identity, love, beauty, community, survival. We're more alike than we seem. 

This is like the nonfiction equivalent to Our Wives Under the Sea.


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Difficult Fruit: Arguments for the Tart, Tender, and Unruly (with recipes) By Kate Lebo Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250829474
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Picador - April 12th, 2022

Personal essays meets learning new things meets fruit recipes 

Even though these fruits may be difficult, they are worth it. Spokane author, Kate Lebo, will make you want to get your hands on all of the pomegranate to make a molasses or a face mask (or, of course, eat as is). 


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
Funny Farm: My Unexpected Life with 600 Rescue Animals By Laurie Zaleski Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250858436
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - August 1st, 2023

This memoir is definitely chock full of funny animal tales, but it did so much more than make me laugh. The story of Laurie and her mother restored my faith in human kindness--especially in dark times-- and I'm sure it will reignite even the most miniscule passion for animal welfare. A must read across nonfiction genres!


Review by Katelynn

Pages