Staff Picks by Tag

The Only Survivors: A Novel By Megan Miranda Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781668010426
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: S&S/ Marysue Rucci Books - March 12th, 2024

Megan Miranda is at the top of her game with The Only Survivors. Ten years ago, a school volunteer trip ended in tragedy as all but nine students perished when the bus plunged into a raging river. Despite, or perhaps because of, their shared trauma, the "only survivors" have made an unspoken pact: to gather every year on the anniversary, to watch out for one another as their numbers dwindle, to never let outsiders know the horror of what they experienced that day. This year is different though, the cracks in their bond are not just internal, someone else knows their secrets and they are not alone


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
Cahokia Jazz: A Novel By Francis Spufford Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781668025451
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scribner - February 6th, 2024

This is speculative noir for readers of all stripes: classic hardboiled fiction fans, history buffs, worldbuilding junkies and “what-if” questioners. In the bustling metropolis of Cahokia, in an alternate vision of Jazz Age America in which Native populations were never decimated by European diseases, a municipal rooftop becomes the stage for a grisly and theatrical murder. As fallout from the crime threatens to plunge the city into chaos, we follow a classically conflicted detective–himself an outsider in this place, unsure if he ought to be a cop or a pianist–as he chases the case through underground speakeasies to the halls of power in this richly imagined, vividly rendered city. This book is a brain-tingling good time; I couldn’t wait to get back to Cahokia every time real life interrupted.


Review by Theo

Staff Pick Badge
Everyone on This Train Is a Suspect: A Novel By Benjamin Stevenson Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063279070
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Mariner Books - January 30th, 2024

What do you do after your dysfunctional family reunion leads to murder, headlines and the birth of your career as a crime author? Do you sit around waiting for inspiration to strike? If you're Ernest Cunningham, author of "Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone," you jump at the chance to board Australia's version of the Orient Express for a mystery writers' convention. If you're anybody other than Ernest, you hope history doesn't repeat itself, but if you are Ernest you expect murder will follow. All Ernest can hope is that 6 famous crime authors can solve a murder (or two!), survive the journey and maybe even write a bestseller about it.


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
Blackmail and Bibingka (A Tita Rosie's Kitchen Mystery #3) By Mia P. Manansala Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593201718
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Berkley - October 4th, 2022

The third installment of the Tita Rosie's Kitchen series set during Christmastime is a delight to the eyes and the taste buds! Lila Macapagal, Filipina-American baker and café owner, must once again do some amateur sleuthing to uncover a murderer in her small town of Shady Palms! This series is one of the most inclusive and diverse of the genre, with plenty of recipes embedded. 
 


Review by Lily

Winter Counts: A Novel By David Heska Wanbli Weiden Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062968951
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ecco - July 6th, 2021

Weiden's debut is a fast-paced page turner about complex modern justice and drug trafficking, with a big, beating heart that flushes its pages with compassion. Don't miss out on this one! For fans of S.A. Cosby, Lee Child, Marcy Rendon, and Don Winslow.


Review by Christina

Staff Pick Badge
None of This Is True: A Novel By Lisa Jewell Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982179007
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Atria Books - August 8th, 2023

Josie and Alix meet while celebrating their 45th birthdays - they’re birthday twins. Discovering that Alix has a podcast, Josie seeks her out to share her story, as a kind of new beginning. Josie dated her mom’s boyfriend when he was 42 and married, and she was just 15. Married soon after and with daughters of her own, Josie wants what Alix seemingly has. But Alix’s life isn’t perfect, with a busy family, a husband with a severe alcohol problem and a desire to tell Josie’s story that may be riskier than it’s worth. Told with a mix of chronological narrative, podcast transcripts, interviews and more, this thriller will convince you and then lead you astray.


Review by Laura

Staff Pick Badge
Sharp Objects: A Novel By Gillian Flynn Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780307341556
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Crown - July 31st, 2007

When journalist Camille Preaker returns to her tiny hometown to report on a local murder, deep-rooted family issues and an overwhelming sense of claustrophobia quickly take hold. I love a good mystery, and Flynn’s character-driven, deeply atmospheric writing immediately drew me in. Suspenseful, original, and subtlety sinister, this kept me guessing until the very end.

 


Review by Jade

Staff Pick Badge
The Prone Gunman (City Lights Noir) By Jean-Patrick Manchette, James Brook (Translator) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780872864023
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: City Lights Books - June 1st, 2002

A fast-paced, action-packed, 1970s crime thriller from France. From the clothing to the cars to the architecture, it’s every bit as cool as you want it to be.

 


Review by Connor

Staff Pick Badge
Murder Your Employer: The McMasters Guide to Homicide By Rupert Holmes Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781451648218
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - February 21st, 2023

Cliff attempts to murder his loathsome boss by pushing him into the path of a train. He's picked up by two plain clothes cops, who aren’t actually cops. Cliff is taken to The McMasters Conservatory of the Applied Arts, a school in an unknown location on a vast and beautiful acreage. He can choose to stay… or be eliminated. Cliff’s been given a full scholarship from an unknown benefactor to learn all the arts of “deletion” and to complete his “thesis” back in the real world. Two of his classmates also plan to murder their employers, following McMaster’s strict rules and ethics. Very arch, with snappy wordplay. Laugh out loud. 


Review by Laura

Staff Pick Badge
Sometimes People Die By Simon Stephenson Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781335429254
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Hanover Square Press - September 20th, 2022

A medical mystery is a rare and fun sub-genre and this one also brings suspense! Our protag is a very average Scottish student doctor and also a recovering addict on probation, newly hired at a chaotic – and inferior – London hospital. When there is a death that doesn't make sense and the police are called in, our protag feels like he's under suspicion and unnerved by it. He’s sort of fallen into all of this, including friendships and relationships, and his reluctance and low expectations fight with the fear he’ll end up accused, disgraced, maybe imprisoned, or something worse. Tiny, gruesome -- and true -- stories of real medical murderers throughout history are interspersed – an unexpected extra!


Review by Laura

Pages