Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Outlaw's Heart (Runaway Brides) By Amy Sandas Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781492652038
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Sourcebooks Casablanca - October 29th, 2019

This runaway bride, second-chance-at-love romance was unexpected and totally swoonworthy. The narrative builds steadily until the final chapters when all hell breaks loose and the story peaks in classic Western fashion. If you like character-driven stories, here's all you need to know: there's a contemplative Native American hero, a Boston society wife with a spine of steel, an abusive bastard of a wealthy husband, and a band of misfit outlaws hidden in a valley of the idyllic Rocky Mountains. Great fun as a standalone or to read out of series order.


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga By Traci Sorell, Frane Lessac (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Traci Sorell, Frane Lessac (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781580897723
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Charlesbridge - September 4th, 2018

As the year ends and we turn our focus to upcoming holidays, I want to highlight an Indigenous author to encourage readers of all ages to decolonize our bookshelves.

 

From Traci Sorrell, a citizen of the Cherokee Nation, We Are Grateful is a beautiful, reflective book that looks at the Cherokee practice of giving thanks as a family and as a community. "We are grateful," in the Cherokee language is otsaliheliga. This and other Cherokee words are sprinkled throughout these pages.



Staff Pick Badge
All of Us with Wings By Michelle Ruiz Keil Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781641291354
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Soho Teen - July 7th, 2020

Is it fate that intertwines 17-yr-old Xochi and 12-yr-old Pallas, or is it simply kindred spirit? On the night of the Autumn Equinox, they cast a playful spell and summon two eerie, green forest children - "Water Babies" in Native American lore - but these creatures do more than cause vivid dreams. Told from multiple POV's (including a bookstore cat!) with interludes in verse and oral storytelling, Keil's debut is a lush, magical novel of first loves and found family. 

A delightfully dark "New Adult" read for fans of Francesca Lia Block, Sherman Alexie, and Hayao Miyazaki. 


Review by Danielle