Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Employees: A workplace novel of the 22nd century By Olga Ravn, Martin Aitken (Translated by) Cover Image
By Olga Ravn, Martin Aitken (Translated by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780811234825
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: New Directions - February 7th, 2023

Written as a series of staff memos from the human and human-ish crew of the Six-Thousand Ship. Eerie, philosophical, funny, and foreboding. I was waiting for something horrible to happen with every turn of the page. But like in a fun way! Wheee!

 


Review by Tania

Staff Pick Badge
Woodworm By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator) Cover Image
By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781949641592
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Two Lines Press - May 14th, 2024

A novella about a hungry haunted house filled with vermin and ghosts and ghoulish saints, plus the two women left to live with a righteous anger calcifying their hopes and dreams into a twisted act of revenge. The pages left cobwebs on my fingertips. 


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
You Dreamed of Empires: A Novel By Álvaro Enrigue, Natasha Wimmer (Translated by) Cover Image
By Álvaro Enrigue, Natasha Wimmer (Translated by)
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593544792
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Riverhead Books - January 9th, 2024

I didn't intend to read this book in a day. I picked up You Dreamed of Empires from the middle of my uncomfortably high reading stack, idled my way through a few pages, and suddenly it was midnight and I was dangling headfirst from the foot of my bed, closing the book and shocked and chilled by the novel's final pages. Alvaro Enrigue's depth of research, his eerily modern characters, his obvious curiosity and ability to transmit an alien world into the reader's brain—all solid gold. Consider me a convert.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
The Annual Banquet of the Gravediggers' Guild By Mathias Énard, Frank Wynne (Translated by) Cover Image
By Mathias Énard, Frank Wynne (Translated by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9780811231299
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: New Directions - December 5th, 2023

Mon dieu, this book has it all. A frustrated anthropology PhD student who will probably never finish his thesis. A secret society of mortuary workers. Beautiful landscapes, reincarnation, agrarian life! Translating Mathias Enard must be a bit like translating Joyce, and Frank Wynne tracks all of Enard's cultural and historical allusions with overwhelming accuracy. Tons of brain-heavy fun. A marvelous gift.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
Skeletons in the Closet By Jean-Patrick Manchette, Alyson Waters (Translated by) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781681377605
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: NYRB Classics - November 7th, 2023

A brutal, complex, and cool-as-hell '70s version of the hard boiled private eye noir, with nihilism, humor, and radical left-wing politics aplenty.

 


Review by Connor

Staff Pick Badge
The Things We've Seen By Agustín Fernández Mallo, Thomas Bunstead (Translator) Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781913097301
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Fitzcarraldo Editions - August 3rd, 2021

Agustín Fernández Mallo's magnum opus is a monstrous book that reaches out and touches everything—love and sentimentalism, war, our pitiful human intelligence, moon landings, physics and dead stars, car chases, Facebook, rooftop tomato gardens—yet is somehow still accessible in Thomas Bunstead's elegant translation. You can't walk away from this novel without feeling brutally changed. There are one-liners that will digest you whole. After 600 pages, you'll realize you've been standing next to a mountain. For readers of W.G. Sebald and Daša Drndić.


Review by Spencer R.