Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Blackmail and Bibingka (A Tita Rosie's Kitchen Mystery #3) By Mia P. Manansala Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593201718
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Berkley - October 4th, 2022

The third installment of the Tita Rosie's Kitchen series set during Christmastime is a delight to the eyes and the taste buds! Lila Macapagal, Filipina-American baker and café owner, must once again do some amateur sleuthing to uncover a murderer in her small town of Shady Palms! This series is one of the most inclusive and diverse of the genre, with plenty of recipes embedded. 
 



Staff Pick Badge
Abyss By Pilar Quintana Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781642861228
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: World Editions - February 7th, 2023

With a cold and beautiful mother obsessed with the deaths of tragic female figures (Grace Kelly, Princess Di) and a much older father who works often and barely speaks, little Claudia can't help but question her place in such a lonely and melancholy world. Her childlike approach to try and win her mother's fickle affections swings like a pendulum between hope and devastation over and over again throughout this slim sucker punch of a book.


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
Safe and Sound: A Renter-Friendly Guide to Home Repair By Mercury Stardust Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780744079074
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: DK - August 22nd, 2023

This book is super accessible for people of all skill sets! It has everything from simple fixes in your bathroom, to preparing your apartment for winter and summer conditions, to managing mold and pests and preparing your apartment for moving out so you can get your deposit back. There’s even a fantastic section helping you to learn your rights as a renter and resources for finding tenant laws in each state! As a renter, I found this to be extremely helpful, even as a safety net!
 


Review by Lauren

Staff Pick Badge
Eyeliner: A Cultural History By Zahra Hankir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780143137092
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Penguin Books - November 14th, 2023

Who knew eyeliner had such a rich history? From Egypt to Iran to Japan to the US, spanning centuries, Hankir weaves together history and interviews discussing the origin of eyeliner along with its uses for beauty as well as a form of resistance. Your idea of eyeliner will transform after reading this book!



Staff Pick Badge
The Annual Banquet of the Gravediggers' Guild By Mathias Énard, Frank Wynne (Translated by) Cover Image
By Mathias Énard, Frank Wynne (Translated by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9780811231299
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: New Directions - December 5th, 2023

Mon dieu, this book has it all. A frustrated anthropology PhD student who will probably never finish his thesis. A secret society of mortuary workers. Beautiful landscapes, reincarnation, agrarian life! Translating Mathias Enard must be a bit like translating Joyce, and Frank Wynne tracks all of Enard's cultural and historical allusions with overwhelming accuracy. Tons of brain-heavy fun. A marvelous gift.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
The Archive of Feelings: A Novel By Peter Stamm, Michael Hofmann (Translated by) Cover Image
By Peter Stamm, Michael Hofmann (Translated by)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781635422757
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Other Press - December 5th, 2023

An absorbing exercise in existential contemplation. The Archive of Feelings is a memory palace furnished with isolation and melancholy, its protagonist feeling fully human thanks to Stamm's hallmark clarity and precision.


Review by Wes

Staff Pick Badge
Song of Silver, Flame Like Night (Song of the Last Kingdom #1) By Amélie Wen Zhao Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593487532
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ember - November 28th, 2023

What a whirlwind! This story is a beautiful blend of history, mythology, fantasy, adventure, and romance. The imagery is so tangible, poetical and melodic, it’s easy to fall into the depths and be transported into this magical universe. Perfect for fans of Xianxia (immortal heroes) dramas! 


Review by Lauren

Staff Pick Badge
The Night Parade: A Speculative Memoir By Jami Nakamura Lin Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063213234
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Mariner Books - November 7th, 2023

In a departure from the traditions of memoir, Lin seamlessly blends personal essay with folk and fairytale in the form of a yōkai bestiary to achieve a more meaningful, emotional truth about the monsters within. The book touches on painful subjects of cancer, loss, and mental health with rewarding vulnerability. Great for fans of In the Dream House or The Collected Schizophrenias, but it’s a one-of-a-kind read!


Review by Jess

Staff Pick Badge
The Strangers (Spanish Literature) By Jon Bilbao, Katie Whittemore (Translator) Cover Image
By Jon Bilbao, Katie Whittemore (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781628974553
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Dalkey Archive Press - February 21st, 2023

Lights over the sky! Mysterious relatives! Ennui, domestic discomfort, ufologists who invade the streets and parks of a coastal Spanish town. A singular, upsettlingly good book that's also partially about the dangers of freelancing. Think THE EMPLOYEES by Olga Ravn but better.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
I Who Have Never Known Men By Jacqueline Harpman, Ros Schwartz (Translator), Sophie Mackintosh (Afterword by) Cover Image
By Jacqueline Harpman, Ros Schwartz (Translator), Sophie Mackintosh (Afterword by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781945492600
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Transit Books - May 10th, 2022

Raised in an underground bunker with no outside contact, our protagonist has no name and no idea where she is. When she and the 38 other women imprisoned with her suddenly find themselves freed, they are released onto a vast, barren plane. Described as "Ursula K. LeGuin meets The Road" Harpman's writing is austere and beautiful. This is a book I will not soon forget. 


Review by Jade

Pages