Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Our Ancient Lakes: A Natural History By Jeffrey McKinnon Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780262047852
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: The MIT Press - October 17th, 2023

Highly readable and entertaining, McKinnon's book is sure to introduce many to an important topic.  Lots of fun!


Review by Zack

Staff Pick Badge
A Fabulous Failure: The Clinton Presidency and the Transformation of American Capitalism (Politics and Society in Modern America #155) By Nelson Lichtenstein, Judith Stein Cover Image
$39.95
ISBN: 9780691245508
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Princeton University Press - September 12th, 2023

I think much of our current social and political ills can be traced back to the garbage that was the 1990's. Of course, who better symbolizes that than Bill Clinton?

The authors take on the realities of the Clinton administration, and its ushering in of unfettered neoliberalism. I know that word gets thrown around a lot, but it's right here folks. Clearer than ever.


Review by Zack

Staff Pick Badge
Dumb Luck and the Kindness of Strangers (John Gierach's Fly-fishing Library) By John Gierach Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781501168604
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 8th, 2021

Can you ever get enough of Gierach? If you said yes, you're wrong.

Here we have another collection of his humorous musings and stories. Not one to shy away from self-deprecation, we get to experience his triumphs and mishaps, the latter of which there are many. I'm sure all of us who fish can attest to that!


Review by Zack

Staff Pick Badge
Where Have You Been, Little Cat? By Richard Jones Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781682635643
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Peachtree - August 1st, 2023

Have you ever wondered how your cat spends their day? This whimsical book answers that question, with beautiful illustrations, and simple prose. May we all have a happy, kind, brave day just like Little Cat.


Review by Alex

Staff Pick Badge
Treacle Walker By Alan Garner Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781668025512
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scribner - November 14th, 2023

Joseph Coppock is a boy who spends his time reading comic books, playing marbles and collecting eggs and bones for his museum.  His life takes a dramatic turn after he meets Treacle Walker, a rag-and-bone man who opens his eyes to a new way of seeing.  Bursting with language you can sink your teeth into and chew on for a while this curious book is a fable in the vein of Susan Cooper and George MacDonald about time and magic.  If audiobooks are your thing, this one is beautifully read. It's only 90 minutes so I listened twice to spend more time in this unusual world.


Review by Charlotte

Staff Pick Badge
Womb City By Tlotlo Tsamaase Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781645660569
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Erewhon Books - January 23rd, 2024

How do you play the game when the system is designed for you to lose? Outwardly, Nelah has a perfect life. Her world, however, is plagued by the criminalization of her body, infertility, and a contaminated sense of reality. Tsamaase presents us with a grotesque reality in which a woman’s body is criminalized, privacy does not exist, body-hopping is commonplace, and the government has the ability to alter memories and your sense of reality. This book left me speechless. 


Review by Lauren

Staff Pick Badge
The Glucose Goddess Method: The 4-Week Guide to Cutting Cravings, Getting Your Energy Back, and Feeling Amazing By Jessie Inchauspe Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781668024522
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: S&S/Simon Element - May 2nd, 2023

Inchauspe is the genius behind the Glucose Revolution.  She discovered among other findings that it's not so much what you eat but how you eat and when you exercise that can have the most dramatic effect on your blood sugar. This is the book for you if you are struggling with high blood sugar or diabetes .  Backed by science Inchauspe walks you through a 4 step, 4 week program of simple tools that can really help decrease spikes in your blood sugar without radically changing your diet.  


Review by Charlotte

Staff Pick Badge
Martyr!: A novel By Kaveh Akbar Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593537619
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Knopf - January 23rd, 2024

Unlike anything I've encountered in recent years, this book's gorgeous prose, authentic voice, and striking plot was life-changing for me. I cried multiple times through this deep dive into death, addiction, and existing in the world as a Persian poet. Fans of Akbar's poetry will be stunned and awed by his fiction debut, but I want everyone to read this book! 

 



Staff Pick Badge
Plenty: Vibrant Vegetable Recipes from London's Ottolenghi By Yotam Ottolenghi Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781452101248
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Chronicle Books - March 9th, 2011

This is one of my go-to cook books.  The kind where the cover is smeared with olive oil and the pages fall open to my favorite recipes.  This man knows his way around chickpeas, eggplant, and all manner of roasted vegetables but the recipe that shines for me is Green Gazpacho.  Easy and so adaptable if you, like me, use a recipe as a guideline and not as the "truth".

 


Review by Charlotte

Staff Pick Badge
Martyr!: A novel By Kaveh Akbar Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593537619
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Knopf - January 23rd, 2024

​​​​​The hype of Kaveh Akbar is real. I pored over every word of this novel, furiously inhaling every beautiful, heartbreaking image. The story follows Cyrus Shams, a poet and addict living in the Midwest, in a search for meaning: in his art, his Iranian American identity, his addiction, his relationships, and his family history. Cyrus becomes obsessed with martyrdom – dying, and meaning it – and travels across the country chasing the idea, only to uncover a complex part of himself and his past. Martyr! will make you reimagine your place in the world and treasure every moment you still have in it.


Review by Zac

Pages