Charlotte

Staff Pick Badge
Treacle Walker By Alan Garner Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781668025512
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scribner - November 14th, 2023

Joseph Coppock is a boy who spends his time reading comic books, playing marbles and collecting eggs and bones for his museum.  His life takes a dramatic turn after he meets Treacle Walker, a rag-and-bone man who opens his eyes to a new way of seeing.  Bursting with language you can sink your teeth into and chew on for a while this curious book is a fable in the vein of Susan Cooper and George MacDonald about time and magic.  If audiobooks are your thing, this one is beautifully read. It's only 90 minutes so I listened twice to spend more time in this unusual world.


Staff pick tags: